DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Heating My Attic




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2007, 11:09 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,992
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hey Cibula:
You had said the temperature in the attic is not much different than the main level. That being said, one run and a register in the middle of the floor should be sufficient. A 6" metal pipe duct will carry 100 cfm which should do a bang-up job for you. No need for a return.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2007, 07:14 AM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

Thanks. I am having someone come out today and tell me what it would cost him. Any ideas on a reasonable figure? The furnace is pretty much directly below the attic area, so it would be pretty much a straight shot from the furnace. I will probably have the holes in the floor cut to cut down on labor. Just wondering if it is something that I could tackle on my own or not??



__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2007, 08:03 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,992
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Yes, you could do it yourself. With the right material and some basic tools, you could whiz right through it.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2007, 08:59 AM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

I don't have a lot of room on my furnace to attach the supply ductwork to. I was wondering if I could start with a flexible duct to start and then run the metal ductwork to the area. Do I need to know anything specific when attaching the duct to the furnace? Or is it pretty much cut a hole and attach?

__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2007, 12:54 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,992
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Yes you could start off with flex-pipe; it should be limited to 3'. OR you could start with 2 or 3 adjustable ells; they will make any angle for you from straight, to 90 degrees. I really prefer the adjustable ells.
To attach the duct to the furnace plenum (the sheet metal box, usually on top of the furnace) you cut a precise 6"round hole and insert an "A-collar" then pipe or fittings can be attached to the a-collar. Turn upward with an ell and terminate with a 6" 4 x 10 universal boot in the attic floor. Lay a 4 X 10 floor register in the boot and you're done.
Caution: Working with sheet metal presents a lot of sharp edges, when you get cut on it the zinc (galvanizing) gets into the skin and causes a burning sensation, wear lether gloves.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2007, 01:43 PM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

Do I need to shut the furnace off first?

__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2007, 11:46 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,992
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Sorry, I often miss the first step in instalations. Yes, it should be turned off while you are connecting to the furnace. It is possible to start in the attic and work down so the furnace will be off for a mimimum time.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Correct way to handle HVAC in attic? pjcampo HVAC 6 01-13-2009 05:52 AM
Attic vents in the dry Southwest RickABQ Roofing and Siding 10 01-19-2008 03:40 PM
Attic Furnace remodel101 HVAC 0 02-07-2007 11:20 PM
Heating for finished attic envoys HVAC 14 01-23-2007 01:18 PM
Attic venting quigleybmd Flooring 5 07-18-2006 09:37 AM