DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Help - changing out old "drum" humidifier with Flow Through one




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2011, 03:00 PM  
gunit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Help - changing out old "drum" humidifier with Flow Through one

Hi, I was searching the forums trying to see what i need to do do change over my humidifier. I can't seem to find the answer so i thought I'd make this post.

I have a high efficiency furnace, i had one of those old drum humidifiers that did nothing but leak on me. So i disconnected it a while back and just purchases a Honeywell Flow Through humidifier.

My question is, to do a swap, is it as simple as removing the old one and just putting this new one in?? the honeywell came with an instruction DVD i'm a little confused on this sensor. seeing I am just replacing this one with the new honeywell, can i reuse all the wiring, etc??

If anyone has any advice or tips, please let me know. Thanks in advance.



__________________
gunit is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2011, 03:25 PM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 4,340
Liked 310 Times on 262 Posts
Likes Given: 109

Default

I think you will get more views in the HVAC section, so I moved it for you.

__________________
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2011, 09:35 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Help - changing out old "drum" humidifier with Flow Through one

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunit View Post
Hi, I was searching the forums trying to see what i need to do do change over my humidifier. I can't seem to find the answer so i thought I'd make this post.

I have a high efficiency furnace, i had one of those old drum humidifiers that did nothing but leak on me. So i disconnected it a while back and just purchases a Honeywell Flow Through humidifier.

My question is, to do a swap, is it as simple as removing the old one and just putting this new one in?? the honeywell came with an instruction DVD i'm a little confused on this sensor. seeing I am just replacing this one with the new honeywell, can i reuse all the wiring, etc??

If anyone has any advice or tips, please let me know. Thanks in advance.
If you have a new furnace than there is a good chance that you have two post on your electronic board marked Hum. That is where the humidifier ties
in for wiring. Now if your humidifier is 24volts you will have to check the wiring or instruction book to see if the Hum post is 110 or 24 volts. If the Hum post is 110 and humidifier is 24 volts then you would have to use a transformer. The reason you want to wire it on the Hum circuit is because this
will run your humidifier only when the blower is running on a heating mode.
Paul
__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Removing dried "self stick" tile glue from hardwood? superjedi Flooring 14 09-16-2012 01:06 PM
"Sloppy" valve needs turns to flow edlank Plumbing Forum 0 04-17-2011 07:04 PM
System running Hot while set to "Cool" & "Off" halogen49 HVAC 7 03-06-2011 04:42 PM
"Auto-close" sliding screen patio doors? justineraymond Windows and Doors 2 04-01-2010 11:14 AM