DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Inside Unit Not Working - Please Help!




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2010, 10:39 AM  
ThatDudeMike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default Inside Unit Not Working - Please Help!

Hello,

A few weeks ago, during a cold snap, our heater stopped working. I tried the thermostat on A/C as well, and it was not working either. After some research and troubleshooting, I finally realized that the inside unit has it's own breaker in the attic - near the inside unit. I flipped the breaker on and off, and it started working again.

Since then, the inside unit has stopped working 3 or 4 times, and I have had to throw the breaker each time, thus making the unit work again. Today, it stopped working again, however when I throw the breaker today, nothing happens...

We have a American Standard split unit, Electric. Outside unit is American Standard Allegiance 14 (model# 2a7a4030b1000aa). Inside unit is American Standard Trane (model# TWE031E13FB1). Thermostat is a Ritetemp (model# 8050 0 84615 00020 4). There are a total of 4 breakers for the system: 2 at main breaker box - labeled 'Heat' and 'A/C'. 1 at the outside Unit, and 1 in the attic at the inside unit.

I am a true novice, so I am really not sure where else to look. Any thoughts or advice to troubleshoot the system? It's now cold again here, and my fiance and pets are shivering all night and day.. Please help!

Thanks,
Michael



__________________
ThatDudeMike is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2010, 11:01 AM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,272
Liked 159 Times on 146 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default

progressively bad connection at the breaker
" " breaker
" " HVAC unit.

Do you have a DVM with a 200 mVac scale?

Open circuits are way easier to troubleshoot than short circuits and overloads.



__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 02-26-2010 at 11:04 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2010, 11:04 AM  
ThatDudeMike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

The DVM that I have has a 200 Vac setting, but I don't see mVac. Is this the same? Also, how would I test these areas?

__________________

Last edited by ThatDudeMike; 02-26-2010 at 11:09 AM.
ThatDudeMike is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2010, 12:03 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,167
Liked 100 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Let's clarify a few things first.
You can't have a breaker in the attic, I don't think that would meet code requirements.
Perhaps this is a service switch?
The 4 breakers you mention, are they two pole breakers or actually 4 individual breakers.
Either way, you have something going bad in the unit that only electrical troubleshooting skills will be able to find.
Most likely the blower motor and/or supplemental heating coils. I'm not all that familiar with heat pump systems but, hopefully the problem is aparent. Remove some panel to gain access to the components and take a few voltage and ohm tests on the line power in.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2010, 12:19 PM  
ThatDudeMike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Pardon my ignorance, but I think you are correct. There are 2 main (pole) breakers in the main breaker-box in the garage (one side heat, the other a/c). There is a service switch (mini-breaker?) at the outside unit, and a service switch (mini-breaker?) in the attic at the heater/blower.

The service switch in the attic was the culprit and resolved the problems previously, so something kept throwing that switch? Could this be something inside the unit, as you mention?

I am just barely familiar with a DMM (DVM), so which settings should I use to test for Ohms and Voltage? The DMM I have has these scales: Vac (600, 200), Aac (200m, 10A), Adc (200m, 10A), Vdc (600, 200, 20, 2000m, 200m), and Ohms (2000k, 200k, 20k, 2000, 200).

Your help is appreciated.

__________________
ThatDudeMike is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2010, 03:38 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,272
Liked 159 Times on 146 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatDudeMike View Post
Aac (200m, 10A)
Post a link to your meter.
You need a 30A-full-scale AC ammeter but you might be able to make the 200mA scale work by using a home-made shunt.
__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2010, 06:39 PM  
ThatDudeMike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Problem solved! Based on a series of tests to the breaker itself, I determined that this is where the problem resided. No power was coming out from the breaker. I replaced the breaker and now I'm up and running! Thanks for your help!!!

__________________
ThatDudeMike is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2010, 08:44 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,272
Liked 159 Times on 146 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default

Keep the old breaker as a spare.
It might have been just a bad connection, which you disturbed by putting in a new breaker.

All's well that ends well.



__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Ice inside window? Bwildly Windows and Doors 6 01-25-2010 05:40 PM
Outside unit stopped working, no heat? rrange HVAC 4 11-26-2008 11:11 AM
A/C unit leaking on inside/but still drains outside specal_k HVAC 1 05-08-2007 12:26 PM
Inside fan won't run while outside unit is on LighteningHammer HVAC 1 10-10-2006 08:26 AM
No AC and bag inside outside condenser unit rsavoia HVAC 2 07-10-2006 02:33 PM