DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Jumping wires





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2012, 05:46 PM  
dakuda
Senior Member
 
dakuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 174
Default Jumping wires

I am thinking about a wifi thermostat that needs a C wire. I read about converting my G wire to a C wire and then jumping the G and Y at the furnace. This is supposed to work the fan with the A/C, and since the furnace controls the fan anyway, it shouldn't be a problem.

My 2 questions:

Is this a workable solution? I have a G, W, Y and R wire setup.

I have some bell wire (from a garage door button laying around, 18-guage). Is that sufficient for the jump?



__________________
dakuda is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-16-2012, 08:47 PM  
runfast
heating expert
 
runfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default

You will then not be able to run the fan on constant if you would like to. You can get a wireless stat or see venstar add-a-wire device.

__________________

[URL="http://furnacerepairwoodbury.us"]Furnace Repair[/URL]

runfast is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring 5 wires cooktop to 4 wires electrical box kimouette Electrical and Wiring 8 03-19-2013 11:18 PM
No hot wires?! Scripty Electrical and Wiring 4 01-18-2011 04:12 PM
Jumping on board HouseRepairTalk railer Introductions 1 01-30-2009 06:01 PM
rerouting wires daniel2229 Electrical and Wiring 5 05-13-2008 08:20 AM
fishing wires Kerrylib Electrical and Wiring 4 07-20-2006 11:00 AM