DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Kinda bummed out-cannot get a Heat Pump





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2009, 07:05 PM  
Outbacker
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
Default Kinda bummed out-cannot get a Heat Pump

I had someday planned on getting a heat pump installed in my house to both heating the AC. I currently have 2 gas fireplaces at each end of the house, and that is fine except the center of the house (I have a rancher) stays chilly, and that is where the bedrooms are. I had my crawl space poured with concrete so it was good to go. Today I called a place for a Trane heat pump and was asking and about getting a estimate done (heat pump plus all the ducting) only to find out that it cannot be installed as my house is only 100 amp service. I never thought about the power side. Apparently it needs a bare minimum of 150 amp service, ideally will have 200 amp. And to upgrade my service is about $3000.00. Wow, that really bumps up the cost for this, so this heat pump idea may not happen. What about a gas furnace? What power service do they typically require?

Thanks.



__________________
Outbacker is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2009, 08:17 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

I'd go talk to another dealer. A heat pump is nothing more than an A/C unit running in reverse. two pole 30amp for the compressor and a one pole 15-20amp for the blower.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2009, 09:02 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,992
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hey Outbacker:
The Trane dealer was probably includings resistance heat strips for emergency and supplemental heat. If you could be sure you would never need them, it may be possible to use what you have.
You might want to use the gas logs to supplement.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2009, 05:45 PM  
Outbacker
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks for the replies, but I am starting to lean towards just getting a gas furnace installed. For those with a gas furnace installed, what size breaker are they linked to?

Thanks again for the all replies.

__________________
Outbacker is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2009, 06:05 PM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Outbacker View Post
Thanks for the replies, but I am starting to lean towards just getting a gas furnace installed. For those with a gas furnace installed, what size breaker are they linked to?

Thanks again for the all replies.
You shouldn't need more than a 20 amp circuit for a gas furnace. Much less if you get a high efficiency unit with a DC motor. A gas furnace just uses electricity to run the blower fan and a tiny amount for the controls.


__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Heat pump question papasjenna HVAC 2 09-25-2009 09:55 PM
Do I need a new Heat Pump -- and what should I know amr40509 HVAC 9 02-02-2008 05:38 AM
heat pump Ice or frost? how much too much? papason HVAC 2 01-18-2008 08:06 PM
need comments for new heat-pump A/C ajainy HVAC 4 09-10-2007 09:33 AM
Heating with a heat pump Begreen HVAC 4 07-24-2006 11:31 AM