DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Need HELP in a hurry!!!!!!




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2006, 02:21 PM  
PaPaDan
Member
 
PaPaDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default Need HELP in a hurry!!!!!!

Have a central forced air furnace and central air system. Thermostat set to fan only works right, Set to furnace and everything works right. Set to Air cond. and compressor kicks on but fan will not work. Pressure line is cold and return line is hot as normal. had an old programable thermostat with out any papers on operation or hookup. Replaced and problem stayed the same. Ideas please?



__________________

Info For All- [url]http://www.hoistman.com[/url] I had amnesia once -- or twice :confused:

PaPaDan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2006, 09:55 PM  
woodworkingmenace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 112
Send a message via MSN to woodworkingmenace
Default

If your coil is freezing up in the furnace, then you may be low on freon.

I had this problem. I have a leak in the unit some place, (seeps out an ounce over the Winter and cant find it yet, guy said to wait til it gets larger..sheesh). Every year, or every other year I have to get freon added so that it works all that year...

So, check and see if your coil in your plenum is frozen, or, if its dirty even (electronic air cleaner not working properly, or not cleaned every month, or the filters not replaced enough to get the dirt crudded in the coils...then it needs sprayed out with a special spray you can buy yourself and clean them).

Could also be a broken wire at the thermostat?? How about your breakers for the A/C? Wife called me at work, and told me that the A/C wasnt working, I called the repair man... found out the breaker wasnt on.. 40 bucks down the drain for nothing... sheesh! (Ya cant do a thing, from work, but let the experts at it, because a wife is not usually savy enough to know what or where the breakers are!)...

Ok, my two cents for what its worth, and a wee bit extra for the collection plate

Jesse



__________________
woodworkingmenace is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2006, 11:03 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I'm no HVAC man. But I've replaced so many temp sensors and contactors that I feel like I should be grandfathered in. I'd trace the wire back from the fan, checking for power with a meter, until you find power. Somewhere, there's a switch or a contactor not working. It may very well be a low freon condition causing the fan to not come on.

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-10-2006, 04:01 PM  
PaPaDan
Member
 
PaPaDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default

Got to check out the furnace today and found out someone had disconnected the blower wire from the control module. Guess I should have taken a closer look before asking. Thanks everyone. Dan

__________________

Info For All- [url]http://www.hoistman.com[/url] I had amnesia once -- or twice :confused:

PaPaDan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On