DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > No power to my thermostat




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2008, 07:04 PM  
rolltrain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default No power to my thermostat

Checked for batteries, it doesn't have batteries. Checked the breaker, no tripped. Where would be another place to start looking?

Thanks for any ideas.



__________________
rolltrain is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2008, 07:19 PM  
guyod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wind Gap, PA
Posts: 423
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Every digital thermostat i seen has batteries. I would look harder. Did you take it off the wall?



__________________
guyod is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2008, 08:21 PM  
Daryl in Nanoose
Senior Member
 
Daryl in Nanoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nanoose Bay, BC
Posts: 762
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

What kind of thermostat is this and what kind of heat ?

__________________

[url]http://edhome.shawwebspace.ca/[/url]


Last edited by Daryl in Nanoose; 02-11-2008 at 08:24 PM.
Daryl in Nanoose is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2008, 11:08 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

If it is not battery powered then there must be a 120/24v transformer to power the controls. Transformers fail occasionally and have to be replaced. You can completely disconnect the transformer and use an ohmmeter to see if you have continuity on the high side and the low voltage side.
It that is not the problem I would look for a wire that has lost connection.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2008, 05:23 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,179
Liked 104 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Check the primary side of the transformer for 120VAC.
Check the secondary side of the transformer for 24VAC.
If you have 24VAC then your T-Stat could be bad.
Check to see if your transformer has a "reset" button, reset if tripped.
All else fails, I usually turn off main power the unit, power it back on and kick it.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2008, 09:30 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default One thing to consider

I dont know what kind of furnace you have, but if it is electric, watch out!Your transformer is probably 240volt. Either way it should be located inside furnace. And there usually is a safety switch on the cover like dome light in car, you might have to depress this to test things. Let us know what you find, and how many wires are in t-stat cable, we might need to use these later.. Good luck KOK328 is dead on on test methods, but make sure your not a electric furn. or you'll want to have meter on 240v...

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2008, 05:23 PM  
jack3140
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Default

how are you testing for power? if you try across the thermostat wires you will get nothing because it is only a switch connected in series go to the source ie the transfo god luck

__________________
jack3140 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2009, 10:44 AM  
wolfenpr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Maybe you just have to replace the thermostat.

__________________
wolfenpr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2009, 08:22 AM  
falconbrother
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 12
Default

If you have a burned out transformer there is a good chance that the contactor shorted and burned up the transformer. There is no good way to test the contactor. You can get one cheap off of ebay. I always keep a 30amp double pole laying around. Last spring my transformer went and nothing on the system would work. I have AC and gas pack. Check the furnace and find the transformer. Make sure you have 120 coming in and 24 going out. This 24 volts probably powers your thermostat. The 24 also powers the electronic control unit and the call for AC (contactor) on the coil. Once I understood my system it became fairly simple to diagnose issues.

__________________
falconbrother is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2013, 02:32 PM  
brywilliams
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Liked 4 Times on 1 Posts

Default

No power to thermostat - allow me to share my $84 lesson. Symptom: no power to my thermostat. checked ckt brkr, checked power across connections for thermostat (have basic Honeywell model - pull control module from base plate to expose wire connections. red is hot.). going into heat pump or air handler for checking is a little more than I'm comfortable with but issue wasn't a transformer or other 'significant' electrical component. issue was my float switch that checks for condensation excess/flooding. in my case, the line to the float switch is not rigid and it had gotten depressed thereby letting gravity help feed the line and tripping the float switch. I would have expected the float to prevent the a/c from running but not shut off all the power to the thermostat. re-leveled the float line/drained water (power on to thermostat) and after 5 min system reset the a/c was back on. take comfort that I didn't need a new compressor or something much more expensive but...



__________________
brywilliams is offline  
4
People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat or furnace problem? dakuda HVAC 8 01-02-2010 03:05 PM
Electric Heat Pump & Programmable Thermostat John Greeb HVAC 2 01-09-2009 09:01 PM
Thermostat Installation jeff7 HVAC 3 01-22-2007 09:31 AM
Having trouble wiring thermostat swinny Electrical and Wiring 2 11-29-2006 09:08 PM
One thermostat works, the other doesn't churley702 HVAC 1 11-22-2006 08:27 AM