DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > re-running condensate drain





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 10:27 AM  
beachguy005
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 45
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

Default re-running condensate drain

Hi folks,
I need to move my ac drain. I'd like to just relocate it to drain directly into my deep sink in the garage. It will also give me the option of collecting it for watering plants.
I'm in SW Florida so it generates a fair amount of water.
Any issues with this idea?
Thanks,



__________________
beachguy005 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2013, 01:00 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 7,730
Liked 541 Times on 490 Posts
Likes Given: 998

Default

Other than leaving the plug in the sink, I don't think there should be a problem. You could run it to a rain barrel outside.



__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2013, 03:46 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,841
Liked 95 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Leave some way to clear blockages, either with high pressure water from a garden hose, or coat hanger wires. These things which carry only water find some way to plug themselves up.

There may also be an overflow designed to alert the homeowner that the normal pipe is plugged; it usually drains outside somewhere.

"Probably the most misunderstood portion of a condensate drain system is trap installation. The primary purpose of a condensate trap is to prevent air from moving in or out of the coil box or air handler during operation. Traps must be installed in a manner that will stop the air from passing through, but still allow the condensate to drain from the condensate pan."

__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 01-24-2013 at 03:50 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 06:26 AM  
beachguy005
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 45
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

Default

Thanks for the replies. Running it to the sink removes about 20 feet of run and three 90s. There doesn't appear to be any trap. An elbow into 3/4 drain pipe out of the bottom of the unit. They also have another line coming out of the pan, which they piped to drain into the soffit, of all places. I'm moving that also.

__________________
beachguy005 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 09:41 AM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,841
Liked 95 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beachguy005 View Post
Thanks for the replies. Running it to the sink removes about 20 feet of run and three 90s. There doesn't appear to be any trap. An elbow into 3/4 drain pipe out of the bottom of the unit. They also have another line coming out of the pan, which they piped to drain into the soffit, of all places. I'm moving that also.
Yeah, that soffit thing is supposed to drain outside to alert the HO that there is a clog.


__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Condensate problem bnmb3273 Introductions 3 07-17-2012 04:14 PM
Running drain pipe under footing? MoreCowbell Framing and Foundation 2 07-27-2011 08:07 PM
Attic condensate drain-via walls? edlank Plumbing Forum 8 12-16-2010 05:17 PM
Condensate drain question Phatboy HVAC 5 10-09-2007 07:20 PM
Repair Rusted Attic AC Condensate Pan?? robhouston HVAC 2 05-29-2007 05:02 AM