DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Running a gas furnace off a generator....




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2013, 10:50 AM  
doechsli
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 34
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Running a gas furnace off a generator....

Not sure if this is the proper forum or not......

There seems to be so much conflicting information on how to make this work. From what I have read, many furnaces will not operate off of a generator. I have read the cause is anything from a bad ground to "dirty" power produced by the generator. Is there any rules of thumb as to how to buy/connect a generator to drive a typical natural gas furnace? The only real load would seem to be the blower and that would not seem to require a large/expensive generator.

As a follow up question, a saw setup for wiring a furnace to run off a generator that seemed safe and inexpensive. There was a "pig tail" wired into the power supply of the furnace with a typical three prong male plug. Attached to the conduit was a three prong outlet coming from the breaker box. Under normal circumstances the plug is connected to the outlet. In an emergency, the furnace is connected to a properly sized extension out to the generator. Safe or not?



__________________

Dennis

doechsli is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2013, 03:11 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 250
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Yes that would be the safe way to do it. Now if your generator has a very noisy output (ie AC not sound) it might be a problem. Hook it up and try it out before you need it for real.



__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2013, 03:40 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,185
Liked 105 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

It is my understanding that generators without a pure sine wave are extremely hard on motors and you run the risk of burning up the motor. I imagine printed circuit boards (PCB's) are voltage sensitive too.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2013, 05:19 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,165
Liked 329 Times on 263 Posts
Likes Given: 109

Default

I have been hearing good things about the Honda units that are inverter stabilized. I’m sure there are many others. My electronics I power thru a battery backup inverter system that’s always connected to line feed. I think these inverter stabilized units work much the same way, only have a gas engine and alternator / generator all in one unit. Most electronics I think converts to DC first thing and in doing so cleans up the power to circuit cards and such. I would still look for a unit that talked about stabilized power and showed some examples of expected wave form. You could always put a scope on the line also to get a feel for how clean the output is if you have one.

Here is a link to the Honda site as an example.

http://powerequipment.honda.com/generators/models/eu3000is

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2013, 05:52 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,165
Liked 329 Times on 263 Posts
Likes Given: 109

Default

PS: Your method of switching and isolating the furnace sounds fine to me and what I would likely do if I wanted a simple method of just keeping the heat on. I would also add a switch after the plug I think maybe a fuse also. I would want to have the gen running smoothly be able to look at the output on its display if it had one then plug in the extension cord making a good connection and then flip the switch to power up the furnace. I would also want at minimum a couple other things powered in an emergency even if it was just a light near the furnace could come off the switch box. I would want a light in the kitchen power to the fridge and maybe the microwave and an outlet for a little tv or radio etc.

I sat out a 7 day power outage in the winter after a blizzard once being unprepared and scrambling around making makeshift heating sources etc. The time to plan is in advance. And those few simple comfort items make a world of difference.

The new old place we just bought has no backup at this point and over Thanksgiving our furnace died the holiday coincided with buck hunting and I couldn’t find a heat guy to come out right away. The house had a doorway between the kitchen and the rest of the house and in the attic I found the old door and rehung it after 50 years up there. Everyone told me there was no need for a door there and I agreed but hung it anyway. Well with the furnace out and a foot of snow outside and temp in the low 20’s, I shut the door turned on two burners on the gas stove top and stayed nice and warm for 12 hours till the furnace was repaired. The rest of the house got down to around 40. Far from a perfect backup plan but better than nothing.

The whole house systems are great and also out of a lot of people’s price range. A small unit sitting in the garage can help a lot and can come in handy for other things as well. It’s a good idea to run them a few times a year anyway.

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2013, 07:20 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 250
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
It is my understanding that generators without a pure sine wave are extremely hard on motors and you run the risk of burning up the motor. I imagine printed circuit boards (PCB's) are voltage sensitive too.
I have an older Coleman PowerMate 4K that serves me well with no trouble, not a pure sine wave but still clean AC. Ran it straight for 6 days keeping furnace, sump pump, deep freeze, refrigerator and well pump on line, just did not have all on at the same time.


__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Furnace Blower/Fan Occasionally Keeps Running Dr_Zoidberg57 HVAC 9 01-24-2013 09:37 PM
Wiring a furnace for a generator..... doechsli Electrical and Wiring 3 12-24-2012 12:49 AM
Very old forced air gas furnace keeps running. auntybb HVAC 16 12-06-2011 02:54 PM
Oil furnace trouble after running dry basscop5000 HVAC 2 06-30-2010 02:41 PM
Running wire for my Generator SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 5 11-12-2008 06:02 AM