DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Splicing ductwork?





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2013, 08:38 PM  
planner101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Splicing ductwork?

Hi,

I tried doing a search for my question but no results were shown, so I tried going back a few pages and couldn't see my question asked.


The bank accepted my offer on a house I put a bid on, so the house is not in my possession... Im strictly in the planning and budgeting phase...assuming all goes as intended.

And this is for information as well as advice... in other words I do know my best bet is to call an HVAC specialist and get their advice... but would like to go into it knowing a little bit about what they are going to talk to me about.


So, in this house I was thinking of using the breakfast nook, which is near the hallway that connects the bedrooms, and turning it into a bedroom. I don't remember if there was a vent in that area or not, but assuming there isn't...

Is it insane to splice the ductwork and run it into the room? I know there is something regarding cfm(?)--don't know what that means but from context clues has to do with sq. footage and what the AC can handle--but since I'm not adding sq ft, would it be possible to splice the ductwork into the "new" room and it not effect the rest of the house?

Don't want a window unit. I'm afraid of the bill with those things.

It is a single story house... around 1,600 sq ft.



__________________
planner101 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2013, 08:57 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,062
Liked 268 Times on 218 Posts
Likes Given: 106

Default

Your system may or may not have capacity to accommodate that area. The CFMs in a system are sized for the size of the rooms.

To get you started, here is a step-by-step calculator. http://www.ehow.com/how_5677999_calculate-cfm-hvac.html

Now, you need to know what your system is generating and if you have the capacity to do the job. Calculate all the loads ... add the new load. Look at your plate and check out the comparison.



__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2013, 09:34 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 7,741
Liked 542 Times on 491 Posts
Likes Given: 1000

Default

It is reasonable to think that that much air is going to that area anyway but the more you know before you call the pros the better. And welcome to the site and congrats on the new digs.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
planner101 Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
ductwork sweating TGMcCallie HVAC 2 07-21-2011 02:32 PM
Adding new ductwork. Bryantom HVAC 3 02-18-2009 06:32 PM
Ductwork txgrl74 HVAC 7 09-10-2007 11:06 AM
Ductwork Mysteries cboley4 Introductions 2 03-25-2007 10:39 PM
Linoleum flooring splicing. smfdrf Introductions 2 03-28-2006 06:18 PM