DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Thermostat or furnace problem?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2008, 10:23 AM  
dakuda
Senior Member
 
dakuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 174
Default Thermostat or furnace problem?

My first though is my thermostat.....

My thermostat (Lux TX9000a) and furnace seem to work fine when they are on the program that I set. However, when I turn up the temperature to override the program, I start to have issues.

My thermostat will flash the word 'Heat' while the furnace is running. Oftentimes, the word will be flashing, while the temperature drops 10+ degrees with no activity from the furnace. Most of the time, this is when I am sleeping. If I manually turn the temperature down below the current temp, then back up, it seems to kick back on.

So, any guesses on this being a thermostat problem? I don't feel like spending the $ on a new thermostat (the current one is from Aug 06) if it wil' be wasted...



__________________
dakuda is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2008, 10:56 AM  
CraigFL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 409
Default

It sounds like you're saying it worked fine for over a year and now it's not always turning the heat on when you demand it. The first thing I would do is a thermostat reset(like a reboot). You may have to reprogram it after you do this. Look in your owners manual to find the reset switch-- usually a pushbutton accessed thru a small hole.



__________________
CraigFL is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2008, 02:51 PM  
AU_Prospector
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 100
Default

Change the batteries?

Sorry to state the obvious, but I had an electronic programmable thermostat which was fairly new like yours and had similar symptoms last fall at the beginning of the heating season at my previous home. My thermostat had 2 AA batteries in it. When I replaced the batteries, the symptoms went away.

Just a thought
Prospector

__________________
AU_Prospector is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2008, 08:12 PM  
dakuda
Senior Member
 
dakuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 174
Default

I replaced the batteries last month when all of this started. I also hit reset and reprogrammed the whole thing.

I called Lux and they sent me a new one since the first post. The same problem is still occurring. If I jump the power for the furnace, it runs fine though. I am confuzzled.

__________________
dakuda is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2008, 08:29 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default what?

Let me see if I have this right. When you have the heat set to maintain room temp it operates fine, but when you run program you end up with troubles of dropping temp? Is the furnace blowing or not when tstat is flashing heat? Does this anomaly happen during the day or just at night. And has this never happened up till a month ago? Is it a two wire system? Talk to ya soon....

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]


Last edited by triple D; 02-22-2008 at 01:19 PM.
triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2008, 07:01 PM  
dakuda
Senior Member
 
dakuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 174
Default

There are four wires in the thermostat.

You have it backwards -- it works fine while on the program and doesn't work while off the program. If I run it up to 70 and press hold, the problem starts. It is mostly at night, but that is pretty much the only time I override the program. People don't visit me when I am at work, I hope. THis is a fairly new problem. Last winter I never had this problem.

__________________
dakuda is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2008, 09:49 PM  
Damon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default

To check the thermostat, go to the furnace and locate the low voltage connections from the thermostat. When you override the program to force heat, you should have 24V from the white wire (or W terminal) to the Common (C terminal). If not, the Tstat is not calling for heat.

__________________
Damon is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2009, 05:52 AM  
johnhumid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I guess the first thing you might do is to reset the thermostat and if it goes nothing then you might check the furnace and the low voltage connections...



_________________
Humidifier filters

__________________
johnhumid is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2010, 03:05 PM  
philfrigo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default

My tx9000a thermostat shows a little "Paddle-lock" icon and will not allow manual over-ride. The thing is stuck at 62 degrees.



__________________
philfrigo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Amana Furnace Blower problem MILL123 HVAC 3 09-26-2012 02:02 PM
Gas Furnace Maintenance Icehouse HVAC 4 02-17-2012 12:32 PM
Gas furnace igntion problem uilleann13 HVAC 1 01-15-2009 04:25 PM
help on a gas furnace ignition problem zorroo HVAC 4 11-19-2008 08:36 PM
Attic Furnace remodel101 HVAC 0 02-07-2007 11:20 PM