DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Trane X Heatpump only works in emergency.




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 10:37 AM  
Gonzowerke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Default Trane X Heatpump only works in emergency.

Greetings all,

Hope everyone had a nice Christmas.


Tried searching everywhere, including here, and have not found my exact problem happening.

A little background first;

Hunter programmable thermostat
Trane Xsomething compressor
Trane XL air handler

Summer before last, compressor capacitor was replaced by HVAC service company.
Last summer, 5 amp fuse for Thermostat blew.

NORMAL SEQUENCE OF OPERATION:
Set temp, Thermo goes click, stage 1 and 2 lights start blinking, fan and compressor come on, comfort ensues. Stage 2 light on thermo may or may not go off, depending on what the system is doing.

Now for my problem.

Set Thermostat for heat or auto heat, and temp to a level that turns it on. Hear Thermostat go click, see light for stage 1 start blinking, but not stage 2 ,hear click, all lights, including display backlight shut off and stage one light just blinks. No fan, No compressor noise. Put it in Emergency Heat mode, Stage 1 light lights up red as it should, fan comes on, expensive heat blows, Wife doesn't freeze.

The Thermo manual says the blinking means it is in a "Hold Mode" that the thermo has to prevent rapid cycling of the compressor. The troubleshooting section of the manual just says to replace the thermo if heat does not come on. I thought the batteries might be dead, even though they are only for backup, so I replaced them. When I removed the thermo from the wall, I blew the fuse on the air handler that feeds the thermo. All circuit breakers for all units are good and reset, no change.

Since the fan works in Emergency mode, and the fuse blew, I am leaning towards it being a Thermostat problem, not a unit one. Luckily, I am installing a programmable thermostat in my Mom-in-laws home today, and will be able to use her old one to test my unit.

I just thought I would run this by everyone here and see what anyone thought, or they have had this exact problem.


Thanks in advance,

Chris



__________________
Gonzowerke is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2012, 10:03 AM  
notmrjohn
Obnoxious Knowitalll
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 251
Liked 24 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

You removed thermo wothout disconnecting any wires? Could be there is exposed wire in cable, movement of thermo caused it to contact another "hot" wire blowing fuze. Could be control wires in contact that don't blow fuse but "confuse" thermo. Check connections to thermo for tightness and over stripped insulation allowing cross connections.

Not familiar with your system, we recently installed heat pump, only electrical strip, "expensive" heat would come on. Even the pro couldn't figure it out. Contacted factory rep, he too was unfamiliar with new thermo. We put him on speaker phone while he rummaged thru all sorts of manuals etc. Turned into conference call with engineer. With me inside, tech outside, everybody on conference call we swapped wires, and all sorts of stuff. Wife inside reading small owners brochure complaing of heat coming on going off AC sporadically shooting cold air, then she sez, " Did anyone tell thermostat there was a heat pump?" Huh? Yup, had to go 12 steps into "set up" on thermo an click "Yes" when display said " Heat pump?"

I 'spect a HVAC pro should come along here soon with a real answer. Let us know if replacing thermo works.



__________________

[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Measure twice, cut once.[/FONT][/CENTER]
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.[/FONT][/CENTER]
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.[/FONT][/CENTER]

notmrjohn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2012, 07:40 PM  
Gonzowerke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Default

No, thermo didn't work. Old one was heat pump specific, new one is switched to heat pump and electric. Bought a new one after all, same problem. I hope it's not a control board, those things are expensive!

__________________
Gonzowerke is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 10:37 AM  
Gonzowerke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Well, ended up replacing blown transformer, no change. When it is powered up, but off, the green CFM LED flickers more than blinks, then goes off, the starts the flickering again. It does this rythmically, so I know it is trying to tell me something, but the flicker is impossible to decipher. The green FAN LED stays off, and two other unlabeled green LED's on the side are dimly lit constantly. What does this mean? I cannot find any info on diagnostic codes or status indicators for this air handler. TRANE 4TEE3f31A1000A. Why is that?

__________________
Gonzowerke is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 12:08 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,040
Liked 120 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 272

Default ok

Well since your not getting any answers here..I hate to do it, but try here.

http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/forum.php?

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 01:03 PM  
Gonzowerke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Thank you so very much!

__________________
Gonzowerke is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 08:39 AM  
Gonzowerke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inspectorD View Post
Well since your not getting any answers here..I hate to do it, but try here.

http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/forum.php?

90+ views, 0 replies over there. They don't like DIY'ers over there, so I tried not to sound like one in my post. Maybe I failed?
__________________
Gonzowerke is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 10:02 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,781
Liked 803 Times on 716 Posts
Likes Given: 1369

Default

http://www.justanswer.com/sip/Trane?r=ppc|ga|4|HI+%2D+HVAC|Trane&JPKW=trane%20tr oubleshooting&JPDC=S&JPST=&JPAD=11041863660&JPMT=b &JPNW=g&JPAF=txt&JPCD=20120207&JPRC=1&JPOP=Darren_ Andrew9sec_Trans&gclid=CMX3urSPxbQCFSFyQgod-2oATA
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2013, 11:12 PM  
keepinitcool
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 27
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

Hey, it sounds like your heat pump is being locked out for some reason. Have you tried running the system in cooling to verify the outdoor unit is operational at all? If the cooling works you can factor that possibility out. If its locked out it may be because it is below the LTCO (low temperature cut out) or the the balance point. When its in hold mode its gathering information from the system components to see which steps to take to provide what you are asking from it. It does this based on how the system is set up through the thermostat options and the various dip switches and setpoints at the heat pump. System setpoints and tstat setup may want to be gone through again, the tstat may not be communicating with the heat pump. Hope you get it figured out!

__________________
keepinitcool is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 02:26 AM  
Gonzowerke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Sorry, should have come on here to tell of my resolution sooner, but between work and home, I just forgot. It was, after all, the control board. Or, more correctly, a combination of control board and transformer. I had the transformer fuse blow last summer, and again when I was troubleshooting. I believe that was indicative of the transformer's impending failure. Turns out the secondary coil burnt out, so no 24VAC. After popping in a transformer of the same rating and voltages I just happened to have on my shelf in the garage, she fired right up. Thank you Bunn Coffee maker company for specing a transformer identical to trane's, albeit slightly larger.

Thank you, those who tried to help!

Chris



__________________
Gonzowerke is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Office Emergency! Our fridge won't cool! TxBuilder Refrigerators 6 08-06-2013 03:15 PM
is this a good price for heatpump shan2themax HVAC 6 06-14-2008 06:56 PM
ICP HeatPump Tripping Outside Breaker dplusm2004 HVAC 5 04-19-2007 08:46 PM
What would you do in an emergency. inspectorD Electrical and Wiring 9 03-05-2007 06:44 AM
york heatpump margy HVAC 6 06-06-2006 10:34 AM