DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Trane XE 90 pressure switch




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 01:12 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

There might be a Trane Technical Service Bulletin out on this problem.



__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2013, 06:20 PM  
tgriffith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Just wanted to say thanks to everyone for posting all the great info. I suspect my problem was strong winds as well, since we had them today. Simply turned the furnace off (using the main switch on the furnace) and back on - no good, but did that again, and it started working again.
Thanks!



__________________
tgriffith is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2013, 09:27 PM  
karasdad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

my five year old XR90 is experiencing the same three blinking lights. It takes about three or four inducer cycles to get it fired up. The pressure switched was replaced and it ran fine for about a month and then began the three lights began blinking again. I can pinch the lower hose for about thirty sec to fire it up but it makes me nervous. My heater guy suggested I call the Trane specialist to look at it. I did check the intake and exhaust and they are clear (they come out on the side of the house) but on windy days it takes several cycles to get fired. I cleaned all the hoses and connections. I disconnected and cleaned the drain hose from the inducer assembly. I bought a new inductor fan assembly on Amazon, it's weird how they have it in stock, I suspect it's a common replacement item for $250 so I could be prepared for this weeks sub freezing temps. The Trane guy is coming out tomorrow morning. I wonder if he will say he never saw this before.

__________________
karasdad is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2013, 01:43 PM  
pookie16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 19
Default Poor design on my Trane

I have now had to replace the flame sensor after cleaning it no longer helped. The blower motor gave out, which I believe may have been the starter circuit which caused the motor to heat up and wreck the bushings. The three light problem went away a week after a guy came out and put on a longer hose to the pressure switch (but initially it did no good.) I am afraid to leave the house for a week for this 3 blink problem that is solved by turning it off and on. If a person put in a timer switch that shut the furnace off twice a day, it would be much more reliable which means the design is poor.
My furnace is something like 5 years old, replacing a 40 year old furnace that was reliable but some experts claimed had a cracked heat exchanger.

__________________
pookie16 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2013, 03:03 PM  
lostpilot28
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 12
Default

Just an FYI to those of you having problems. I went through the same basic checks that many of you did...pressure switch, paper clip, check the flu lines to see if they were plugged, etc, etc.

When you've tried all the basic stuff (I even replaced my pressure switch with a new one (same model for $40 online) and it doesn't fix your issue, it's probably a cracked heat exchanger. Mine was cracked for over 2 years while I had repair guys out trying to fix it. In the end, the 20 year warranty covered the exchanger, but not the labor. I feel fortunate to have that done by a great service guy for $350. The problem NEVER returned after the heat exchanger was replaced.

The crack was right on the header of the heat exchanger...about 18 inches long and up to 1/4" wide. Note that the header is plastic. Go figure.

__________________
lostpilot28 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2013, 07:40 AM  
Furnaceguy59
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Hello lostpilot28. Congrats on the fix of your cracked heat exchanger. I had a the crack along with thousands of others. Your problem is not solved. The problem is wind. Your Trane will fail to light when the wind comes at a sufficient force "and" direction. When your furnace fails to ignite again, make sure you cycle the power to your furnace at the switch on your furnace, "not" the thermostat.

__________________
Furnaceguy59 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2013, 10:47 AM  
karasdad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Hey lostpilot28, the Trane specialist came over and you are absolutely right, there was a four inch crack in the heat exchanger. They are replacing it on Friday along with the high limit switch on the top burner and rollout sensor, both of which they think have been exposed to excessive heat from the burners being fed by the air leak. How does the crack in the heat exchanger affect the inducer draft? About six or seven hours to replace, will be about $700. Also need a new upgraded green circuit board because of some intermittent operation. I bought one on Amazon, has anyone replaced this themselves? Is it pretty straightforward? The Trane tech said it was a weak spot in their brand. also said I need to get another intake vent added because the current ones don't supply enough incoming air for the furnace to breathe and caused it to run too hot, about 6 degrees hotter, doesn't seem like much. That will be my next project to manage. Thanks for all your help.

__________________
karasdad is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2013, 03:51 PM  
karasdad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Well, I spoke too soon. Dealer called and said the replacement heat exchanger would not be available for 30 days, none in stock anywhere. Five weeks in the midst of the Seattle winter is a daunting prospect. $3500 for a brand new replacement furnace. will consider it because I have no choice, but will probably opt for a different brand.

__________________
karasdad is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2013, 10:09 AM  
lostpilot28
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Furnaceguy59 View Post
Hello lostpilot28. Congrats on the fix of your cracked heat exchanger. I had a the crack along with thousands of others. Your problem is not solved. The problem is wind. Your Trane will fail to light when the wind comes at a sufficient force "and" direction. When your furnace fails to ignite again, make sure you cycle the power to your furnace at the switch on your furnace, "not" the thermostat.
Well, I'd love to agree with you, FurnaceGuy...but it most definitely is fixed. The wind may be an issue for some installations, but it wasn't for mine. The final proof for me was to see the "before and after" of the digital manometer readings. The crack was essentially causing the pressure differential to not be significant enough to override the pressure switch. Makes total sense to me. Apparently, it made sense to my furnace, too, since it works great now.
__________________
lostpilot28 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2013, 10:11 AM  
lostpilot28
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karasdad View Post
Well, I spoke too soon. Dealer called and said the replacement heat exchanger would not be available for 30 days, none in stock anywhere. Five weeks in the midst of the Seattle winter is a daunting prospect. $3500 for a brand new replacement furnace. will consider it because I have no choice, but will probably opt for a different brand.
Sorry to hear about that, Karasdad...I had to wait about a week for a replacement heat exchanger. Hope you get your issue resolved soon. I'm thinking that Trane has a real issue with the plastic header on the H.E.


__________________
lostpilot28 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Resetting a Boshart Pressure Switch with NO lever, HELP? crapbathroom Plumbing Forum 0 12-31-2008 08:25 PM
Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @ 1001miles HVAC 6 11-02-2008 11:03 AM
Trane XE90 Pressure switch code. Truth? showngo2000 HVAC 7 10-13-2008 04:26 PM
Trane xe 90 led indicates pressure switch jskalic HVAC 1 11-29-2007 10:38 PM
Furnace draft pressure too low Alwaysfixinsumthin HVAC 1 10-26-2007 11:18 PM