DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Trane XE90 LED Troubleshooting Codes




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2008, 08:30 PM  
furmanator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Trane XE90 LED Troubleshooting Codes

Have a Trane XE90 and it's blowing air but the Igniter will not go on. The boards LED is flashing 4 times. I moved in 2 years ago and replaced the igniter about 2 months ago. The prevous owner did not leave me with the manual with the codes. If anyone out there knows what the codes mean It sure would be apprieciated, it's going to be a two dog night. Only problem is I have a Jack Russell who provides too little heat and a Bullmastiff that pushes me out of bed.



__________________
furmanator is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2008, 06:12 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,200
Liked 113 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Check on the back of the removable panels or ignition control module to see if there is a diagnostics chart.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2008, 06:23 AM  
furmanator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default

I did and there was nothing there

__________________
furmanator is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2009, 02:22 PM  
FmrLCpl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by furmanator View Post
I did and there was nothing there
4 flashes -- Open High Limit Device

whatever that means.
__________________
FmrLCpl is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 03:59 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,200
Liked 113 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

High limit switch is a device to shut down the system in the event of an over-heating condition in the combustion chamber. There are dozens of types of switches being used. Some are manually resetable and some are not. The resetable types will have a small red button in the center of them between the two wires. Press this button in and try the system again. If it is not the resetable type then you might get lucky by tapping on it to get it to unstick. Otherwise you'll have to replace it. Just be sure to replace it with one of the identical ratin. The spec print on these is microscopic and will require a pair of young eyes or a magnifying glass to see.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2009, 06:53 PM  
hoadle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default

My sister bought the house about year ago, last week she toll me The circulation blower does not turn off –always running (Trane XE90 gas furnace units in the house)
Although the thermostat is set on 'Off' vs. 'Heat' or 'Cool' and fan ( I mean circulation blower) is on 'Auto', the fan runs constantly.
The sight glass on the furnace shows a red light is off.
(Look like gas furnace & air condition unit is working final only problem the circulation blower is run continuous)
I disconnect the Thermostat control of base the circulation blower still running is tell me the Thermostat control not control the circulation blower
I check HPS/PS2 (High Limit SW) & LPS/PS1 (low limit SW) + inducer housing limit SW. All had continuity (normal close switch)
I check Vaccum switch is no continuity (normal open switch) when I turn on the heater & check vaccum switch is had continuity.
I switch to air condition (unplug blue wire for heater circulation blower) is circulation blower turn on about 30 second & shut off (I hear 2 cliks at relay one begin & 30 second late is turn off the circulation blower.
I can’t find the Trane XE90 gas furnace manual online but I folow the dirgram at housing door check all thing above. Maybe I missing some step from Troubleshoot to check out the circulation blower setup.
Please let me know what wrong my sister gas furnace

__________________
hoadle is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2009, 07:03 AM  
Furnacexr95
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Can someone please help: How much doest it cost to replace a Trane XE90 with a Trane XR95, 100,000 BTU same physical size and hook ups?

__________________
Furnacexr95 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2009, 08:55 AM  
Furnacexr95
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Default Trane XR95, 100,000 BTU

Can someone please help: How much does it cost to replace a Trane XE90 with a Trane XR95, 100,000 BTU same physical size and hook ups?

__________________
Furnacexr95 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2009, 08:06 AM  
jtplanktin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I just had this. It was dirty filters. I replaced them. Very easy. My filters are directly above the heating chamber, so it was getting too hot, and tripping the high limit switch (4 blinks is the "Open High Limit Device").

They're $4 each at Home Depot. I needed 3 of them.

__________________
jtplanktin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2011, 08:36 AM  
thanksagain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default XE 90 High Limit Switch reset and location

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
High limit switch is a device to shut down the system in the event of an over-heating condition in the combustion chamber. There are dozens of types of switches being used. Some are manually resetable and some are not. The resetable types will have a small red button in the center of them between the two wires. Press this button in and try the system again. If it is not the resetable type then you might get lucky by tapping on it to get it to unstick. Otherwise you'll have to replace it. Just be sure to replace it with one of the identical ratin. The spec print on these is microscopic and will require a pair of young eyes or a magnifying glass to see.

Would like to reset/replace my high limit switch but not sure where it is, I do see a sensor on the fire box with two wires, is that it? But no reset switch on it.


__________________
thanksagain is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
High limit problem on Trane XE90 Garvey HVAC 1 11-10-2011 08:33 AM
Trane XE90 Malfunctioning kappaman HVAC 2 12-16-2008 04:22 PM
Trane XE90 Won't stay lit nifaron HVAC 2 11-16-2008 02:09 PM
Trane XE90 Pressure switch code. Truth? showngo2000 HVAC 7 10-13-2008 04:26 PM
Trane xe90 flue move homerepairguy HVAC 4 05-10-2007 11:38 AM