DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > York Stellar Plus wonít ignite




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2008, 06:55 AM  
rodge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default York Stellar Plus wonít ignite

Natural gas furnace, 12 years old, small, only heats 2 rooms,
Sticker says model # M3UF024SA for cooling, P2UDD06N03B01D for furnace, can’t find it anywhere.
Situation:
When heat is switched on motor starts running, pressure switch (the one on the right with 2 wires) closes (multimeter reads 0V), but hot surface igniter won’t ignite.
Disconnected the igniter and there is no voltage coming in to igniter contacts.
Igniter itself looks OK, not broken, a little charred, ordered new one just in case.
No diagnostic LED here, like our other unit York Diamond 80 has.
Question:
What could be the problem, what can I test further myself ?

photo with upper part door open:
P1020401.jpg



__________________

Last edited by rodge; 11-11-2008 at 10:01 AM. Reason: replaced pix with links
rodge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2008, 08:35 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,185
Liked 105 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

For a 12yr old unit, this one looks really clean.
After the pressure switch is made, the flame sensor/ignitor should be energized.
What is the second pressure switch hooked to?
It appears this is not a standing pilot system but, rather an electronic ignition system. Does the ignitor glow red/orange after the pressure switch is made? Does the system just shut down after ignition failure?



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2008, 08:55 AM  
rodge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Ignator looks like this
http://www.theignitorstore.com/thumbnail/product/64297/640/480

If electronic means no pilot light, then it's electronic.
Normally it should glow, but does nothing.
Somethere I read(not about my model), that there should be 115 v coming to ignator. I disconnected the plug and tested and it reads 0.
So the problem between pressure switch and ignator, but what?
The other pressure switch has 3 contacts I dont know what it is for.
I saw video on youtube

how to test pressure switch. they talk about 2 contacts, that's what I have on the right side and it closes(reads 0).
__________________

Last edited by rodge; 11-04-2008 at 08:19 AM.
rodge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2008, 01:43 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,185
Liked 105 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

A really stupid question but, are the gas valves on?
I can see for sure but, it appears that the pressure switch on the right is tied to the pressure switch on the left, at least on the clear tubing. The pressure switch on the right is tubed to the inducer motor. I guess we need to see whats going on with the pressure switch on the right. Where do these 3 wires go? Is the ignitor connected to the circuit board?

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2008, 03:31 PM  
rodge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Gas is on; blue switch inside and red outside.
Pressure switches not connected with each other.
LEFT one(with 3 wires) connected by tube to inducer motor.
Tube from the RIGHT switch(with 2 wires) splits in 2: to top gas chamber and to gas valve(with blue gas switch).
What does it mean and how to test them?

Will check that pipes for inducer and exhaust are clean, they are not meshed on outside.
Could it be the reason for not lighting up?

__________________
rodge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2008, 06:18 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,185
Liked 105 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Sorry, I typed it all wrong. It appears that the pressure switch on the left is tubed to the inducer motor and the other pressure switch on the right. At this point (and I'm not sure why) it appears that York has on pressure switch for the ignitor and one pressure switch for the gas valve?
If the inducer motor is running and maintaining rpm to the satisfaction of the pressure switch then blockage in the exhaust would be irrelevant. I'm sure you already did but, start looking for loose connections, check your ignitor for continuity. If you see any relays, give them a sharp tap while the unit is still in the startup cycle.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2008, 06:29 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,185
Liked 105 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Another thought, check for any reset buttons and check for continuity on any limit switches.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2008, 08:25 AM  
rodge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

There is what I suspect is a limit switch, round with 3 tabs, has too many wires connected, how to check it ?
Checked pipes – clean.
This unit is heating/cooling and cooling is fine, I had to say it earlier - might mean less tests.
Found the control board in lower compartment with diagnostic LED.
Hoped to see it blinking but it’s off all the time, not a blink.

Situation remains:
On call for heat, inducer motor starts and runs and nothing else happens. I let it run for 5 min – nothing, runs until switched off by furnace switch.
My goal it to find the part needing replacement( pressure switch , control board, ???).
I will risk replacing myself anything under hundred bucks.

Right pressure switch has NC and C terminals wired.
Left pressure switch that’s tubed to inducer has NC, NO and C terminals wired.
Tubes clean, no cracks.
How to test their electricals?
What would be the sing of bad control board?

__________________

Last edited by rodge; 11-02-2008 at 12:31 PM.
rodge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2008, 10:57 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,185
Liked 105 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

test for continuity on the limit switches and the same for the pressure switches but, test them when the inducer motor is running.
As far as the control board, when all else fails, replace the board but, I don't think we're at that point just yet. I have a feeling it's something really stupid and we'll both be kicking ourselves in the butt when it comes to light.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2008, 12:18 PM  
rodge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

sure feels like something stupid (disconnected wire), before the pressure switches.
Found troubleshotting manual for control boardhttp://www.white-rodgers.com/wrdhom/pdfs/06_Cat_pages/Cat_06_pg0278_281.pdf
Going through chart 1(page 2)
with inducer running there is 25v between C and R on tranformer,
but there is 0V between TR and TH on control board.

Board has no power! Doesn't mean the board is bad.

here is from left to right board, transformer, limit switch.
FFF.jpg

Does something look strange?



__________________

Last edited by rodge; 11-04-2008 at 08:20 AM.
rodge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
York Stellar Plus NG furnace wont' stay running-HELP johnceberhardt HVAC 24 07-03-2012 05:18 AM
variable speed motor on york heater is defective d-a-v-e HVAC 21 03-21-2012 02:44 PM
York Stellar Erratic Starting bazza HVAC 23 01-07-2011 07:24 PM
York Stellar Furnace problem clayjthom HVAC 7 12-28-2008 02:58 PM