DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > York Stellar Plus wonít ignite




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2008, 04:30 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 112 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Pic 1 is the ignition control module, is there a green printed circuit board present?
Pic 2 is the terminal block for the T-stat, I can't see the transformer but, on a York anything goes. I think the transformer and T-stat terminal block are one unit. When calling for heat, you should have 24VAC across R&C, C&W, and possibly C&G, check these. If no power across R&C then either you don't have primary power or the transformer is bad. No power across C&W, the T-stat is bad (keeping in mind this York thing, could still be the transformer w/no power to W).
Pic 3 is the tempature limit switch set at a low of 85 and a high of 165. You should see volatge from chassis ground to line and load if the switch hasn't cut out. I believe this controls the fan blower motor.
According to the troubleshooting guide, you have a bad 24V limit switch bad. I think (verify), the limit switch is 120VAC. Look for a little silver can like button about the size of six dimes stacked together, with two wire leads coming off it. Most likely located in or around the burn box.
Also in the troubleshooting guide in the lower left corner of page one, there is a diagram that show a 24V limit switch that cuts power to terminal TH of the control module. Find this switch and test it for continuity across the leads.
What are the results of the ignition control module test from the troubleshooting guide?

At this point the only thing we know for sure is that I have no idea of what I'm talking about.

P.S.- You didn't hear this from me but, as long as your monitoring the burn box and only doing this as a temporary test, you can jumper out the limit switch and see what other problems might exists.
And man do I mean temporary, like just once to see if the system fires. Be absolutely prepare to pull the jumper off if the burn box is malfunctioning or you'll burn down your house. It could be that this switch just died or there is truly a problem with excessive temps or flame rollout in the burn box.



__________________

Last edited by kok328; 11-03-2008 at 04:48 PM.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2008, 08:16 AM  
rodge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default Problem solved for now!

You were right on!
The switch! First I didn’t see anything in the burn chamber, then looked in our main unit York Diamond 80 and saw the cylinder switch!
In this small broken unit same wires just seem to go to the ceiling of the burn chamber, but there was a switch there and looks bad.
Sure there is no 120V there, will replace it.



Thank you soo much, but please stick around. I’m not that brave to jump the switch and see what else is wrong. It very well might be.

Replaced pix in previous posts with links as to not to use much space and keep the thread open( and someone else might find it useful).
You right that on pic 2 in the previous post is terminal block for the T-stat. It's glued to the transformer and together they look like this: P1020418.jpg



__________________

Last edited by rodge; 11-04-2008 at 08:34 AM.
rodge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2008, 01:13 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 112 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Sorry, the limit switch shown is not what I'm used to seeing but, is none the less the correct item in which we set out to find.
Test this switch for continuity and this will tell us if it is good or bad.
The switch should yield continuity if it is good.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2008, 03:50 PM  
rodge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

the switch/fuse has no continuity, needs to be replaced.
I searched for exact same one, found info but no place to buy it.
It opens at 152 degrees C or 306 F.
I think it was not supposed to be there. Is is held by 1 screw, but there are 2 screw holes in the place I found it; looks like cylinder switch was there originally.
I will replace it with cylinderhttp://www.heatingandcoolingwarehous...7747016-2T.jpg
It's better as it has reset button.
Only concern - the cylinder opens at 320 F.
What do you think?

__________________
rodge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2008, 04:03 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 112 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

replacing a 306F switch w/a 320F switch, I don't think I could sleep at night. It seems that the orignal switch has been replaced (probably the one I described) and the OEM F rating is long gone. I know, your saying heck, it's only 14F difference but, if the original was say 290F, then we could have a problem, now we're off by 30F, which more than double the original offset.
If you can, try to find the proper switch (keep in mind that someone replaced the original w/a close enough switch). If the F rating of the replacement switch is too low, you'll just burn them up. If the F rating is too high, you could risk burning down your house. Try googling the unit or call a local H&C company or a York dealer and see if they can determine the proper F rating for a replacement switch. Once you know the proper F rating for the switch, try Graingers.com they seem to have just about everything under the sun and don't require a contractors license, account or problem finding them.

__________________

Last edited by kok328; 11-04-2008 at 04:40 PM.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2008, 04:33 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 112 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

It appears that Rodge either didn't like my last answer, got his heat working, blew himself up or all of the above.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2008, 06:57 AM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Maybe he called a local pro?

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2008, 07:26 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 112 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Yea, that would fall under the "got his heat working" catagorey. Lord knows, I wasn't getting him anywhere.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2008, 08:07 AM  
rodge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
Yea, that would fall under the "got his heat working" catagorey. Lord knows, I wasn't getting him anywhere.
You helped a lot and it's much appreciated , especially as problem still stands.
I was just distracted by other things.

Bought 320F switch. Using it temporary to fix this unit. If fixed, I’ll find the right one for perm and keep 320F as a spare for our main unit.
The broken unit heats/cools sun room on main floor and den in the basement and both rooms are part of open floor plan and served well(though not directly) by the main unit.
Fixing this small unit not critical now, but to have it ready for colder weather and in case the main unit breaks is very important.
I really want to fix it, not replace, because the cooling half is working great.
And the pro will sure insist on replacing it. There is no info on this model anywhere anymore.
Anyway, putting the new switch in hasn’t change anything. Will do some poking around today and post results.
Please check this thread
__________________
rodge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2008, 12:44 PM  
rodge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Some history:
At the end of last heating season this unit would ignite burners and after a short while the flame would go out.
I left it at that till new season, and when decided to take a look – it won’t ignite at all.
With the help from kok328 found bad high limit switch.
Now, seeing the high limit switch in really deteriorated state it explains for me last season problem – switch opened at lower temps and finally opened for good.

But replacing the switch, did nothing to fix other(new this season) problem: unit doesn’t even try to ignite.
Ignition control board LED should blink once at the beginning indicating ready – it doesn’t.
Pressure switch is open.
I disconnected pressure switch tube from inducer and sucked in for a moment with power on and heard the switch click and control board LED blinked!
Do I have bad inducer?
It makes noise, warms to the touch and blows air out white PVC pipe outside.
Tube to the switch is not damaged. Some other tubes connected to it look greasy on inside. Here is picture.



__________________
rodge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
York Stellar Plus NG furnace wont' stay running-HELP johnceberhardt HVAC 24 07-03-2012 05:18 AM
variable speed motor on york heater is defective d-a-v-e HVAC 21 03-21-2012 02:44 PM
York Stellar Erratic Starting bazza HVAC 23 01-07-2011 07:24 PM
York Stellar Furnace problem clayjthom HVAC 7 12-28-2008 02:58 PM