DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 15 or 20 amp GFCI receptacle?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2013, 10:35 PM  
Ocean_Man
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 12
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy petey View Post
Wow! So much misinformation.

See my previous reply. A 15A DUPLEX receptacle is TWO 15A receptacles with a feed-thru of 20A. YES, you CAN plug in two 9A loads into a 15A duplex and it will be FINE.

Neal, I know you are a long time member here, but this statement: "I can plug in two items at 9 amps each, I have overloaded the plug and I have no protection from the breaker.", is just painfully wrong. HOW can you possibly say there would be no protection from the breaker? On top of this, the breaker protects the wire, NOT the load.

Sorry guys, but replies like this bother me quite a bit. It shows that anyone, even folks who really don't know all they should, can give electrical advice, and any unsuspecting DIYer will just read it and take it for fact.

I think he's talking about plugging into a single plug and using over 15 amps. Of course each plug can handle the 9 amps but drawing over 15 amps from a single 15 amp plug is a code violation based on 210.21B2 right? Then it doesn't matter if the internals are the same as a 20 amp receptacle or not because code states that max load on a 15 amp receptacle cannot exceed 12 amps regardless of the breaker size. And, on a 20 amp receptacle its 16 amps so we can never pull 18 amps by code.

I never meant to imply that a GFCI has any over current protection. This conversation has nothing to do with GFCI's actually.


__________________
Ocean_Man is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2013, 08:03 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 916
Liked 86 Times on 72 Posts

Default

I think you left out one key word in your explanation, 'continuous'. The continuous load can not exceed 80% of the circuit.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2013, 10:02 AM  
Ocean_Man
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 12
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Thanks, that's correct.

__________________
Ocean_Man is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom receptacle not working.. JJman Electrical and Wiring 8 08-04-2011 01:27 AM
Adding New Receptacle SavvyCat Electrical and Wiring 12 01-26-2011 06:39 AM
receptacle above ceiling kok328 Electrical and Wiring 2 11-05-2010 03:59 PM
Switched receptacle confusion leon99 Electrical and Wiring 3 02-15-2010 07:20 AM
Installing a new receptacle help! Rehdarh Electrical and Wiring 3 09-04-2009 06:33 PM