DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 2 breakers, 1 neutral, 14-3 wire coming from Load Center/panel

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2011, 01:53 PM  
kmham

Default 2 breakers, 1 neutral, 14-3 wire coming from Load Center/panel

I'm not an electrician, but know some of the basics. But this is new to me so I want to see what some of you recommend.

Here's the situation (in Iowa by the way)...
Brand new 20x40 shed with brand new Load Center/panel installed inside by professional electrician. Currently has 1 basic light and 1 outlet wired by the electrician. Now I want to add some overhead lights. Using 2 15A breakers, I want to run a 14-3 wire out of the panel into 1 double gang box having 2 light switches where each light switch has it's own breaker and each controls 1 row of lights. So 2 circuits (1 on black and 1 on red), using the same ground and neutral. Each light has six 32W florescent bulbs for a total of 192W and each row has 3 lights so I'll just round up to 600W total per row. I know 15A using 14g wire can handle 1800 watts (1440 max) so the 600W is well under that, but I still want each row of lights to have it's own breaker.

Is this okay, meaning can the red & black hots share the neutral? I thought I read somewhere that this is okay IF the breakers are on opposite sides of the panel. Is it wrong/dangerous to have them on the same side? Does the electrical code speak to how this should be done and if so where specifically is this stated?

Anything else I'm missing? Many thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2011, 02:46 PM  
Alphabet