DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 2 hot wires coming into receptacle





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2010, 11:35 AM  
Alonzo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Default 2 hot wires coming into receptacle

I had a question and I was hoping you guys can help. I am installing a new ceiling fan. There is a receptacle directly below where I want to install the switch for the fan. I was going to pigtail into the receptacle. When I removed the receptacle, there were 2 wires coming in both 12-2. After seperating them to find out which was the hot wire coming in, I discovered both black wires coming into the box were hot. Can I still pigtail into one of these. If so how? The house was built in '97.



__________________
Alonzo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 01:07 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

How did you determine there were two hots. If you used a digital meter one of them was probably a phantom voltage.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 03:09 PM  
Alonzo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Hey JoeD, Thanks for the quick reply.
I used a simple neon circuit tester. It marks 110V, 220V 227V. I touched one end to the ground wire and the other end to the black. Both Black wires marked 110V. I tried this on another receptacle and only got one hot coming in. Could this simple tester give me wrong reading? How could I find out which is the correct wire? Is there another tester that is more acurate?

__________________
Alonzo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 03:17 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

The only thing I can think of is that one hot was powering the top or bottom of the duplex receptical (with the bridge tab removed) and the other hot was powering the opposite (bottom or top) of the same receptical (odd setup up but, I've seen stranger things).

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 05:55 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

i have seen this happen if they wanted the top hot all the time and the bottom is coming from a switch, so you can plug in a lamp and run it from a switch. paul

__________________

Last edited by paul52446m; 10-29-2010 at 05:59 PM.
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 10:53 PM  
serpentine5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga, Tn
Posts: 26
Default

Question, you did remove the wires from the receptacle before testing for voltage right?
What Kok328 said about the bridge tab, did you understand that? On a new outlet, you have two screws on each side, two are silver and two are darker colored, and then you have a single one that is usually green. on the sides you have the sets of screws and in between the screws you have a metal tab called a bridge, i bridges a connection from one screw to the other on each set of screws. That way if you only have one wire coming in, you attach the black to one of the darker screws, the white to one of the silver screws, and the ground to the green. as long as the bridges are in place it doesnt matter what screw you attach to in the sets as long as you put a black on the barker set and the white to the silver set of screws. The outlets are separate of the other, and the bridge connects them so a single wire can power the two outlets.
What Paul said about the receptacle having a constant on and a switched plug all on the same receptacle is the most common reason you will have two hots in the same receptacle box.
Attached is a pic of a normal duplex outlet with the bridges intact. You would grab the tab with side cutters and break it out of place to separate the two plugs.



__________________
serpentine5 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2010, 05:31 AM  
budro
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Default

you guys probably got it right, but i have seen folks not familar with digital testers accidently push the "hold" button on their meters and get 120v on everything. i've had a few laughs with them when they call me and they believe every wire in their house is hot. that plug would pop a breaker if there were two hots coming in and the tab not broke. some yahoo might have wired it wrong too. if it was on the same circuit it would still work with the tab intact. he can find out by killing one circuit and seeing if it shut off the other hot wire. a tangled web we weave. i guess i'm way old school cause i never heard of a "neon" tester. is that one that just lights up with no numbers? thanks, budro

__________________
budro is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2010, 09:44 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

The plug would not pop the breaker if both hots were on the same side of the service.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2010, 11:49 AM  
Alonzo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Default

I did remove the wires from the receptacle first and tested all the wires. I tried attaching a pic of the tester that I used, hopefully I did it correctly. Also, there already is a receptacle on the other side of the room that has a constant on lower plug with the top plug controled by a switch. The bridge on this one has been removed. The one I am working on still has the bridge intact and all of the switches nearby control something else.





__________________
Alonzo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2010, 03:02 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo View Post
I had a question and I was hoping you guys can help. I am installing a new ceiling fan. There is a receptacle directly below where I want to install the switch for the fan. I was going to pigtail into the receptacle. When I removed the receptacle, there were 2 wires coming in both 12-2. After seperating them to find out which was the hot wire coming in, I discovered both black wires coming into the box were hot. Can I still pigtail into one of these. If so how? The house was built in '97.
Well if that's the case, use one hot to power the outlet and the other hot to power the ceiling fan.


__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Single switch to receptacle jeff7 Electrical and Wiring 11 09-18-2012 08:44 AM
Switched receptacle confusion leon99 Electrical and Wiring 3 02-15-2010 07:20 AM
Installing a new receptacle help! Rehdarh Electrical and Wiring 3 09-04-2009 06:33 PM
How many wires in a conduit? voltohm Electrical and Wiring 10 11-24-2008 05:14 PM
Carpet coming up jhudson Flooring 4 02-12-2006 03:47 PM