DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 2 switches on 1 circuit




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2009, 02:39 PM  
hos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default 2 switches on 1 circuit

Is is possible to hook up 2 light switches on 1 circuit? I'm not talking about a 3-way switch -- but 2 switches controlling 2 separate set of lights. I can't seem to find anything out on this.



__________________
hos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2009, 02:52 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Absolutely.
They can be wired in series so that both have to be on for the load to be on; or in parallel so that if either/any switch is on the load is on.



__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2009, 04:59 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,171
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Bring your hot & neutral into the double gang switch box, split the hot and neutral here.
One hot into switch #1, the other hot into switch #2.
One hot out of switch #1 to fixture #1 along with a split neutral.
The other hot out of switch #2 to fixture #2 along with the other split of neutral.
Post back if this is not clear but, be sure the power is off before you proceed.

__________________

Last edited by kok328; 03-23-2009 at 05:01 PM. Reason: political correction
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2009, 05:24 PM  
hos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

The power is coming through 9 lights into the switch -- then I'm assuming from the switch to the next switch, which then goes to 3 more lights. End of circuit. I'm using 14-2 wire also. Do I need 14-3?

__________________
hos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2009, 06:28 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,171
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

I think you have that backwards. Power is coming through the switch and then into 9 lights. I assume the next three lights are on the next switch. With this setup, you have to turn on the 9 lights just to turn on the 3 lights. Correct?
14-2 will do just fine, you only need a few inches of wire to make the necessary pigtails in the J-box.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2009, 06:29 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 936
Liked 91 Times on 76 Posts

Default

You must have 14/3 through all the lights and to the first switch to make this work properly. 14/2 from first switch to second switch and to the lights controlled by second switch.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2009, 06:35 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Ooops. My mistake. I read it wrong.

Two switches. Each one for it's own set of lights. Got it now. Sorry guys.

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2009, 06:38 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hos View Post
The power is coming through 9 lights into the switch -- then I'm assuming from the switch to the next switch, which then goes to 3 more lights. End of circuit. I'm using 14-2 wire also. Do I need 14-3?
I agree with the others. This cannot be right.

Try describing it again in detail. For example, try not to say "The power is coming through 9 lights into the switch". It is impossible to tell what you mean by this. The power "going through" the lights would definitely require 14/3 cable.
Try to say something like "I have a 14/2 feed in the switch box. Then a 14/2 cable going from the switch box to the light.......etc...."
THAT we can understand.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2009, 07:21 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,171
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

JoeD is correct and I was just popping in to correct myself.
If you have the switches apart from each other then JoeD is technically correct (14/3).
If you want the two switches in the same box, side by side, then my original statement would be correct (14/2).

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2009, 07:50 AM  
hos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Sorry, let me clarify. From the breaker box, I have 14-2 running into a recessed light box which then moves from box to box tying them up black to black and white to white (9 of them). Then from the ninth recessed box, 14-2 wire runs to the light switch.

Now if that was all I had to do -- I'd be ok. I just ran a circuit like that and it worked great (with the switch being on the end).

However, I still have 3 more lights on another switch (in the same gang box) that I'm trying to place on the same circuit. So 2 switches controlling 2 sets of separate lights on the same circuit. That's my dilemma.

Can I draw my power from the first set of lights? Or can I somehow connect the 2 switches together to get my power and yet still control each set of lights separately.

I hope that makes it a bit more clear. Thanks for all your help!



__________________
hos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
motion switches and removal of 4-way switches nadjacs Electrical and Wiring 5 08-27-2013 08:26 PM
How many light/switches per circuit? leeym Electrical and Wiring 7 02-10-2009 05:10 AM
Popping noise from wall switches AU_Prospector Electrical and Wiring 6 01-26-2009 05:53 PM
Three Way Switches Always Hot? TxBuilder Electrical and Wiring 2 02-11-2007 03:34 PM
Two switches one light - lost my way. John Electrical and Wiring 6 11-17-2006 02:15 AM