DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 2 switches on 1 circuit




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-24-2009, 08:47 AM  
hos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
You must have 14/3 through all the lights and to the first switch to make this work properly. 14/2 from first switch to second switch and to the lights controlled by second switch.
If you understand my problem correctly -- I'm afraid you might be right. If I understand this - the 3rd wire in the 14/3 becomes the power that runs through the whole lot of lights and then bypasses the first switch? Is that why only 14/2 is required for the second switch and set of lights?


__________________

Last edited by hos; 03-24-2009 at 08:58 AM.
hos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2009, 09:27 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,200
Liked 113 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Your still reading the circuit backwards but, I understand what you want to do and should follow JoeD's suggestion to achieve your desired results. Although, it almost sounds like the circuit is doubling back on itself giving you the impression that the switch is at the end of the circuit.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2009, 10:56 AM  
hos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

So what if I ran a new wire from the breaker box to the double gang switch box? Could I spit the hot wire to each switch and then run from the switch to each set of lights and still have the lights controlled separately?

I'm now trying to avoid having to run 12/3 to each of my lights. I already have 12/2. If I wrote 14/x before -- it was a mistake.

__________________
hos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2009, 10:57 AM  
hos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
Your still reading the circuit backwards but, I understand what you want to do and should follow JoeD's suggestion to achieve your desired results. Although, it almost sounds like the circuit is doubling back on itself giving you the impression that the switch is at the end of the circuit.
I guess when I say circuit -- I mean the breaker. But I should mean the switch and lights?
__________________
hos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2009, 12:50 PM  
hos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Ok. I rewired it and had the 12/2 wire come from the breaker boxes into the switch box. I split the hot and neutral to the switches and ran from the switch to the lights. They work! Although the lights are flickering -- not sure why that is. It's the helical flourescent mercury laden ones. Thanks for the help!

__________________
hos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2009, 05:14 PM  
hos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

One more thing.....As long as I have 12/3 wire, can I put a light switch anywhere in a circuit and still have hot outlets (e.g. circuit begins at an outlet, then runs to the lights, then the switch and then another outlet)??

As long as I have 12/3 running from the light to the switch?

__________________
hos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2009, 05:46 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,200
Liked 113 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Ok, sounds like you wired it per my instructions instead of JoeD's instructions. Your posting was a bit confusing and depending on how we interpret it, you'll wind up with two different set of instructions.
In regards to your final question, the answer is yes but, not per your (e.g.).
Your (e.g.) implies that the lights can never be shut off because there's no switch between the outlet and the lights. The lights can be powered on one switched circuit inside the 14/3 and the outlets can be powered on the other hot circuit in the 14/3. Just make sure to tie the outlet circuit to the incoming side of the switch or you'll end up with switched outlets.
Another thing is that you only need 14/2 or 14/3 depending on what you want to do but, 12/3 is overkill.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2009, 11:38 AM  
KEITH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I think you better recheck that wiring. If you have the black from the panel hooked up to the black of the first light and the white from the panel hooked up to the white of the first light then the light would always be on.

__________________
KEITH is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2009, 08:16 PM  
KEITH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I think you want to do somethng like this
HTML Code:
         bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
         b                        b
         b                        b
         b   +========+           b   +========+
         b   "        "           b   "        "
     bbbbbbbb"        "           bbbb"        "
             "        "               "        "
             "        "               "        "
       BBBBBB"        "         BBBBBB"        "
       B     "        "         B     "        "
       B     +========+         B     +========+
       B                        B
       B                        B
       B                        B
This is just for the black wires
b= black from panel
B= black to lights

all whites get tied together
__________________

Last edited by KEITH; 03-28-2009 at 08:44 PM.
KEITH is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2009, 01:23 PM  
Sandman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Can someone please explain why in kok's original post the split neutrals need to go directly to the light fixtures instead of through each switch?



__________________
Sandman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
motion switches and removal of 4-way switches nadjacs Electrical and Wiring 5 08-27-2013 08:26 PM
How many light/switches per circuit? leeym Electrical and Wiring 7 02-10-2009 05:10 AM
Popping noise from wall switches AU_Prospector Electrical and Wiring 6 01-26-2009 05:53 PM
Three Way Switches Always Hot? TxBuilder Electrical and Wiring 2 02-11-2007 03:34 PM
Two switches one light - lost my way. John Electrical and Wiring 6 11-17-2006 02:15 AM