DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 2 switches-1 to each outlet of receptacle?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2013, 08:50 PM  
Spaceman78
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Default 2 switches-1 to each outlet of receptacle?

I know you can wire one outlet of a receptacle to a switch while keeping the 2nd outlet always hot. Is it possible to wire one switch to the top outlet and a 2nd switch to the bottom outlet so I can control 2 different devices, each from it's own switch? Both switches would be on the same breaker.



__________________
Spaceman78 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2013, 07:54 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 974
Liked 106 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Yes it is. It would be the same as when you wire one switched and one hot. Only difference is the wire you use for always hot will also be controlled by a second switch.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2013, 08:32 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,282
Liked 398 Times on 311 Posts
Likes Given: 162

Default

Yes it is. You can break the tab on the receptacle which isolates top and bottom from each other. Thus, yuou can bring switched power from different directions into the same receptacle.

Remember to mount the receptacle "upside down" so it is indicated as switched.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2013, 09:13 AM  
havasu
on permanent vacation
HRT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
havasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern California, CA
Posts: 2,241
Liked 109 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeVilla View Post
Remember to mount the receptacle "upside down" so it is indicated as switched.
I've never seen or heard of this. Does seem like a logical idea though.
__________________
havasu is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2013, 09:32 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 974
Liked 106 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by havasu View Post
I've never seen or heard of this. Does seem like a logical idea though.
Not code, but common practice in some areas.


__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
motion switches and removal of 4-way switches nadjacs Electrical and Wiring 5 08-27-2013 08:26 PM
15 or 20 amp GFCI receptacle? SBay_ecologist Electrical and Wiring 22 06-12-2013 10:02 AM
Receptacle Box Size FarmersHouse Electrical and Wiring 6 09-04-2012 09:35 AM
GFCI receptacle? sdupp Electrical and Wiring 3 01-27-2012 01:38 PM
receptacle above ceiling kok328 Electrical and Wiring 2 11-05-2010 03:59 PM