DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 20A receptacles




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-20-2005, 07:13 PM  
Mach1
noob
 
Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default 20A receptacles

I have a garage wiring project to do in the near future. Using the book Wiring Simplified 41st Edition as a guide, it highly recommends the use of 12 AWG wire and 20A breakers for 110V circuits.

So, jumping in head-long, I bought a 100A loadcenter for the garage, a 1000 ft spool of 12/2 wire and various 20A single pole breakers. When I got to lightswitches and outlet receptacles, I became puzzled.

It seems that outlets and lightswitches rated for 20A are harder to come by, as I could find none. The regular 15A outlets say "for use with 14 or 12 AWG wire." Why would they say this on them when 12AWG wire is used for 20A circuits?

Do people typically use 12 AWG wire with a 20A breaker and a 15A receptacle?



__________________
Mach1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2005, 09:58 AM  
HandyMac
Mac
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 29
Default

You may need to go to a dedicated electrical supply place for the 20A receptacles/switches---although I get them at any of several local HD stores.

The basic difference between 20A and 15A receptacles/switches is that the 20A seldom have pushin connection ports---you have to use the screws. That makes a much more secure connection, as the spring loaded quick connect ports can get over heated and loosen, causing sparking and excessive resistance.

Some 20A units do have a bit heavier metal parts.

I have 15A receptacles in my shop, as I seldom have two machines/tools operating at the same time. The wiring is 12 gauge, however.

__________________
HandyMac is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2005, 09:12 AM  
powrofone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

If the 20A circut is dedicated (supplying just one device or outlet) then code requires the use of a 20 amp recepticle. If you are daisy chaining the same circut across several devices, then the use of 15 amp recepts is allowable.
Do not forget GFIC protection!

__________________
powrofone is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How hard is it to switch plugs? WestBentley Electrical and Wiring 11 03-29-2007 07:34 PM