DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 3-way wiring issue




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2011, 08:52 AM  
MSU Fan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 22
Default 3-way wiring issue

Ok, so I am replacing all the outlets and switches in my house with white. In doing so, there are a couple of 3 way switch setups. Now, I am a pretty simple guy, so my thought is pull the existing switch, wire in the wires in the same spots on the new switch and voila - the switch works. If only life were that simple.

On the one setup, this little plan worked perfect. On the second setup, not so much. On the second setup, the one switch is acting like a master (operating on and off as it should), but the second is acting like a slave. If the master is off, then the slave won't do anything. But if the master is on, then the slave works as it should. Do I have some wires wired in oppositely? How do I correct this please! Thanks!



__________________
MSU Fan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2011, 01:10 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,912
Liked 675 Times on 604 Posts
Likes Given: 1196

Default

One screw on the switch is marked common, it gets the black wire and the white wire goes to the silver screw.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2011, 01:17 PM  
MSU Fan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 22
Default

am I supposed to be looking at the master or slave? I assume the master, but I don't want to jump to conclusions yet.

__________________
MSU Fan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2011, 02:25 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,912
Liked 675 Times on 604 Posts
Likes Given: 1196

Default

You have two three way switches and do them the same.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2011, 03:39 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,912
Liked 675 Times on 604 Posts
Likes Given: 1196

Default

3 way switch - Google Search
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2011, 06:31 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 916
Liked 86 Times on 72 Posts

Default

Three way switches are not all the same. The common screw is not in the same place on all of them. You need to identify the common screw and put that wire on the common screw of the new switch. The common screw is the black one. The problem sould be at either one of the switches.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2011, 06:53 AM  
MSU Fan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 22
Default

Looks like I just had a loose wire on the "master" switch. Thanks for the help!



__________________
MSU Fan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Computer issue Dyson Computers and Electronics 4 04-26-2011 09:55 PM
drywall issue islander Walls and Ceilings 1 12-06-2010 11:33 AM
Lanoleum Issue SallyBrian Flooring 1 10-27-2009 09:48 AM
GFI Issue? jersey-joe Electrical and Wiring 10 06-04-2008 04:41 PM
New here & need tip(s) on wall issue... Wolf_22 Flooring 2 01-16-2006 02:34 PM