DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 7.5 HP 80 gallon industrial 2 stage compressor




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2008, 11:04 AM  
Scot Clark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Default 7.5 HP 80 gallon industrial 2 stage compressor

Hi:

Porter-Cable CPLMC7580V2C 7.5 HP 80 gallon industrial 2 stage compressor.

Specs:
Voltage/Hertz/Phase: 240/60/1
Horse Power: 11.00 peak, 7.5 run
30 Amps @ 240 Volts.

Instructions say "minimum branch circuit requirement" : 30 amp.

I'm leaning towrads using a 40 amp breaker, 8-2 wire w/ground.
Does this seem right? I'm concerned if I used a 30 amp breaker
with 10-2 wire it might trip the breaker when it kicks in.
It's only about 35 to 40 feet away from the electric panel.

Now also thinking about this idea: wire it up with a 50A breaker and 6AWG wire and NEMA 6-50 recepticle and put a NEMA 6-50 plug on the compressor. That way I can also use the recepticle for a Lincoln 220 welder
that has a NEMA 6-50 Plug requiring 50 Amp circuit and a Lincoln 180C welder that came with a NEMA 6-50 Plug requiring a 40 AMP circuit.
This would save me from running a line for the welders. I would never
use the compressor or any of the welders at the same time.
Just wondering if using a 50 AMP breaker is too much for the compressor
by not providing enough safety by not being able to trip if or when needed.

Thanks !



__________________
Scot Clark is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2008, 04:01 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 109 Times on 95 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

All the industrial compressor I've worked with are 3 phase not single. They are also setup to run constantly with load and unload pressure points that keep a steady supply of air in the tank. Your unit should state the FLA and that will determine the amperage required.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2008, 05:14 PM  
guyod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wind Gap, PA
Posts: 423
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Installing a sub panel might be a little more work but would allow you to use both plus what ever toys your get in the future.

__________________
guyod is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2008, 06:35 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 445
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
All the industrial compressor I've worked with are 3 phase not single. They are also setup to run constantly with load and unload pressure points that keep a steady supply of air in the tank. Your unit should state the FLA and that will determine the amperage required.
This is NOT an "industrial" compressor. It is a P-C compressor with the word "Industrial" on it. There IS a difference.

Also, the ones you are referring to a pretty rare, at least around here. In fact I have never even seen one that runs constantly. Pretty wasteful IMO, I don't care how mush it is used.

First off, this is NOT a true 7.5hp motor if it is only a 30A draw. A "real" 7.5hp motor @ 240v single phase should be around a 38-40A draw.
This is probably one of those "developed HP" ratings, like Craftsman shop vacs have. We ALL know, there is no such thing as a 6hp shop vac with a standard 15A plug on it.


Scot,
If the actual draw is 30 amps then DO use #8 wire and a 40 amp breaker.

There are MANY odd and special codes regarding motors. Read NEC Art. 430. Your head will spin.
__________________

Last edited by speedy petey; 01-16-2008 at 07:12 PM. Reason: typo
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2008, 07:02 PM  
guyod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wind Gap, PA
Posts: 423
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

I fell for the developed hp rating on the shop vacss . i cant believe i every fell for that. I remeber thinking " i dont think 3hp is strong enough for what i need better go for the 6hp " lol

__________________
guyod is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 05:47 AM  
Scot Clark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Hi Folks: Thanks again for the advise.

__________________
Scot Clark is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2008, 11:44 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default good God

If you have a name plate rating on a lift or a compressor or a shop vac. or any g.darn thing wire for the name plate rating. 30 amps is 10 ga. wire.... if it says 30 amp min circ size, this doesnt mean you will catch on fire, or that the breaker will need frequent resetting!!!!! Have you seen the price of wire lately fellas??? If a name plate rating is above a division of 10 (examp. 33 amps) round up to next breaker as 30 wont work If plate says max. rating you may need fuseable disconnect to hit something like 35 amp or 45 amp. And hel& no dont run it on 40 or 50 amp this is over fed and unsafe!!!! Put plug for welder closer to panel, it will be cheaper. compressor needs 30 amp 240volt breaker and 10ga wire copper.



__________________
triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Air Compressor Timer 69-er Electrical and Wiring 20 03-08-2014 12:07 PM
Lennox AC Compressor Problems -- Capacitor? SomewhatHandy HVAC 8 01-19-2013 03:40 AM
Compressor reset? shovelshort HVAC 2 06-21-2007 12:31 PM
Coleman Heat Pump compressor not starting sciroccin HVAC 1 04-14-2006 06:08 AM
Air Compressor, Porter Cable 6 gal. Square Eye General Home Improvement Discussion 1 01-30-2006 05:00 PM