DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 89 - 90 volts at Outlet




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2013, 12:33 PM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,229
Liked 352 Times on 282 Posts
Likes Given: 115

Default

I have heard of getting low voltage out of a GFCI when the common got switched on the input side. Or something like that. Neal is correct make sure the feed is all done correct and the load wired out properly. But if you tripped both of them and you still had power to the ones in question it sounds like they are not the ones. Can you follow the wires?

There are tone devices like Neal showed that work quite well. I have also seen guys make a flashing load using a 120 v heavy duty xmas tree light box and plug a 100 w bulb in and then use a clamp on amp meter and look for the wire that’s pulsing.

Start by finding the breaker yes. Then you can trace it as far as you can both ways and look for things and clean up connections etc.



__________________
bud16415 is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2013, 02:27 PM  
brewer55
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 19
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I found the issue. It was a tripped GFCI on the FRONT porch. I'm thinking that it is probably going bad if I was getting a voltage reading at all when it was in the tripped position.

Anyway, thanks for all the advice. It prompted me to keep looking and I learned a little more about the power scheme for this house.



__________________
brewer55 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2013, 02:40 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Time may tell if it was a false trip or it tripped for a valid reason.

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2013, 06:28 AM  
brewer55
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 19
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
http://licensedelectrician.com/Store/ZR/CF12_Pro.htm
When you opened the gfi did you check how things were wired, If it was wired wrong you could be getting power from the line side.
Thanks, Neil. I've not opened the culprit GFCI yet to see if it is either wired incorrectly or needs replacing. One more item on my list of things to do.
__________________
brewer55 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2013, 06:55 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,229
Liked 352 Times on 282 Posts
Likes Given: 115

Default

Don't even mess around with it change it out. If it was tripped and had 90 V on it. It wasn't really tripped off. The whole reason to have one is for your safety. Glad you figured it out.

__________________
bud16415 is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2013, 03:38 PM  
ohmy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 53
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brewer55 View Post

One more question. Is there a tool for electric circuits that puts a 'trace' on it with something like an audible tone? I know they make toners for low voltage wiring (phone line), but did not know how one traces out an electrical line short of line of sight.
Yes, they are called "toners" and you can get them at the box store. The only thing is you want to make sure the circuit is completely dead before you tone it and start from the beginning of the circuit.
__________________

www.TECertifiedElectricians.com

ohmy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 01:39 PM  
brewer55
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 19
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohmy View Post
Yes, they are called "toners" and you can get them at the box store. The only thing is you want to make sure the circuit is completely dead before you tone it and start from the beginning of the circuit.
Kind of defeats the purpose if you don't know where the circuit runs.
__________________
brewer55 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 02:45 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

I made up a spare 50A breaker with a cord and plug and an LED/resistor/diode power indicator.
You plug it in the questionable outlet and switch it on and the smaller breaker feeding that circuit trips off. If it doesn't, the 50A trips off and then you know you have a defective breaker.
I don't do this in customers' houses, only in mine.



__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
New outlet in workshop JeremyB Electrical and Wiring 8 02-04-2012 07:11 PM
Outlet gone bad sirenwerks Electrical and Wiring 4 05-27-2010 04:57 PM
Wiring a Plasma cutter at 230 volts... Delano_man Electrical and Wiring 10 05-25-2009 06:55 PM
Outlet above gas cooktop MoTex Electrical and Wiring 8 02-27-2009 06:24 AM
Rewiring outlet? TaskBoy Electrical and Wiring 3 11-26-2008 08:56 PM