DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Adding electric for bath and bedroom





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2009, 08:27 AM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default Adding electric for bath and bedroom

We've been cleared to convert our garage to a bedroom with 1/2 bath (possibly a full bath). With electrical, I'm guessing I will have to have someone licensed do the work, but what can I do to keep the costs as low as possible. I have added circuits before, but doing an entire room with bathroom seems overwhelming. My building inspector said I need to tell my electrician to sue NEC 2008 and tie in the smoke detector to the existing ones (which are only battery operated), so I'm not sure how that will work. Suggestions?

(The garage does have a subpanel, but uses fuses not breakers)



__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2009, 11:11 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,992
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hello Cibula:
You might ask a professional electrician to draw up a schematic of the electrical service for the conversion with DIY type notes so that you can do it on your own. Most codes will allow the home-owner to do work on their own house.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-31-2009, 05:00 AM  
locknut
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 75
Default

cibula11: If you've added circuits before, I don't see why you can't wire the rooms. There's not that much involved. What is involved: a number of outlets, an exhaust fan (maybe), some lighting, telephone jack/TV cable (probably). Don't see a problem; just a matter of extending your work. You know what you need. It is important, of course, that your subpanel has the capacity for the additions.

__________________
locknut is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-31-2009, 04:23 PM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

The subpanel uses fuses and i'll need a AFCI so I'm guessing that old fuse box would need to be converted to a subpanel. Any ideas on what something like that typically runs?

__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Adding an electric garage heater scottman1027 Electrical and Wiring 16 10-05-2009 11:16 PM
Basement remodel, Adding Bedroom, Using Bulkhead as Egress? broadbill General Home Improvement Discussion 1 04-24-2009 05:14 PM
Bedroom Remodeling cissiro General Home Improvement Discussion 1 11-15-2008 06:37 PM
Adding a basement bedroom JoulesWinfield Framing and Foundation 20 01-25-2007 07:32 AM
Adding a basement bedroom JoulesWinfield HVAC 9 01-02-2007 12:20 PM