DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Adding a light and outlet to new room




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2010, 10:39 AM  
swindmill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 167
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Adding a light and outlet to new room

I'm adding a walk in closet in what is now unfinished attic space. It will be attached to a bedroom in the finished side of the attic and it's above a living room. I need to "tap in" to existing wiring to add the switch and outlet, preferably the wiring from the bedroom so that it's on the same breaker. I have an idea of how this is accomplished, but I was hoping someone with experience could explain it so that I can be 100% confident with what I'm doing.



__________________
swindmill is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2010, 10:46 AM  
GregC
Quick Belt System
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 82
Default

Take your new 12/2 or 14/2 wire from a existing receptacle box in the bedroom, run it to the switch box for closet, then your 14/2 from switch up to the ceiling light box. Hope you understand.



__________________

GregC, President/Founder [COLOR="Blue"]www.Quicktoolbeltsystem.com[/COLOR]

GregC is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2010, 10:55 AM  
swindmill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 167
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks again GregC. It makes perfect sense, I'm just hoping that I can find an exposed receptacle. I imagine it's the same process for the outlet?

__________________
swindmill is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2010, 11:00 AM  
GregC
Quick Belt System
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 82
Default

Welcom...You got it. Just loop together, as long as you don't have too many drawing from the same then you get into all the volts vs amp thing and have to possibly up the size of the breaker.

__________________

GregC, President/Founder [COLOR="Blue"]www.Quicktoolbeltsystem.com[/COLOR]

GregC is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2010, 06:58 PM  
swindmill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 167
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

After doing a little more reading, I have the wiring from the source to the light, switch, and the outlet figured out. What I'm not 100% sure of is how to know if a certain receptacle is a good source of power. If I have an outlet with live/neutral/ground connected, can I simply run new 12/2 from the unused connections on that receptacle? Alternatively (maybe better), there is an outlet in the BR near where the attic is that I will never use. Can I remove that outlet and use that wire as a source?

__________________
swindmill is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2010, 07:54 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swindmill View Post
What I'm not 100% sure of is how to know if a certain receptacle is a good source of power. If I have an outlet with live/neutral/ground connected, can I simply run new 12/2 from the unused connections on that receptacle? Alternatively (maybe better), there is an outlet in the BR near where the attic is that I will never use. Can I remove that outlet and use that wire as a source?
You could get a clamp-on ammeter
http://news.thomasnet.com/images/large/008/8194.jpg
and measure the typical current through the breakers in your panel that are handled by your candidate outlets.
Pick an outlet served by a breaker that typically runs well below it's rated 15A or 20A capacity.

If an outlet can run a hair dryer at full speed and full power, the wiring connection integrity is good all the way back to the panel.
__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 02-03-2010 at 07:57 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 04:59 AM  
GregC
Quick Belt System
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 82
Default

Sure, that would work. You got it! Either, Or. Pull off of that receptacle or remove it entirely and use it as your source.

__________________

GregC, President/Founder [COLOR="Blue"]www.Quicktoolbeltsystem.com[/COLOR]

GregC is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 07:21 AM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

If you are just adding a switch and outlet to a closet, I'd use 14 gauge wire vs 12 unless the circuit has a 20 amp circuit breaker. The heavier wire is much harder to work with.

__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 11:17 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

If you take off a resi. panel cover you should be wearing level 2 arc flash gear. Getting a shock may be the lesser hazard.

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 06:21 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 112 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wuzzat? View Post
If you take off a resi. panel cover you should be wearing level 2 arc flash gear. Getting a shock may be the lesser hazard.
Are you serious? This gear would cost more than hiring an electrician to perform the work on a one-time installation.


__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a new bathroom outlet DrDave Electrical and Wiring 7 01-05-2010 03:26 AM
night light power outlet jboogie408 Electrical and Wiring 3 11-20-2008 06:24 PM
ceiling light wiring affecting light in another room johnm Electrical and Wiring 4 05-25-2008 12:55 AM
Adding a patio room vanman250 General Home Improvement Discussion 4 06-07-2006 07:20 AM
Adding on to a room newowner General Home Improvement Discussion 1 11-15-2005 08:16 PM