DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Adding a light & switch to a room?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2013, 12:02 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 965
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I never thought of doubling it over and pushing both pieces though one hole. I suppose that could work.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2013, 12:33 PM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,208
Liked 349 Times on 280 Posts
Likes Given: 113

Default

I thought for sure I could find a photo on line of a barn or something daisy chain wired without a wire nut used but I couldn’t find a one. Maybe I don’t know what to search on.

They nail up 6 to 10 boxes and start at one end with a #12 cable and at each light double it over and poke it in the box about 6 inches and one staple close to the box. Then go down the line. When you strip the wire back in the middle about an inch and bend it to a U shape to go around the socket’s screw. The last one is the only one that gets a hook bend. Out in the elements like a barn this works pretty good because there are no wire nut connections to worry about.

It’s not any more work than doing all the nuts and pigtails and short wires I don’t think.



__________________
bud16415 is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2013, 08:59 AM  
savatreatabvr
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
How did you manage to feed the cable through the box without cutting it? I never heard of any one do that.
I'm still in the process of running the wire, I was assuming I could just stick a fish tape up through the box to the attic and hook on the wire. It sounds simple enough, lol! It's also a interior wall so there shouldn't be any insulation, right?
__________________
savatreatabvr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2013, 09:03 AM  
savatreatabvr
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I'm still kind of confused on how to install two 3-way switches, one each at the ends of the hallway to control three recessed lights that are being controlled by three separate switches?

__________________
savatreatabvr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2013, 09:24 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 965
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by savatreatabvr View Post
I'm still kind of confused on how to install two 3-way switches, one each at the ends of the hallway to control three recessed lights that are being controlled by three separate switches?
Is this a new project or a change to the original switch from a receptacle?
Give us a complete description of what is there now and what you want to accomplish.
__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2013, 09:49 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,208
Liked 349 Times on 280 Posts
Likes Given: 113

Default

Doing a google search on 3 way switch will give you dozens of examples and videos of how to do that. They all can be a little confusing as they mostly show you how to wire it without the concept behind what you are doing.

A 3 way switch is a single pole double throw switch and seeing it in schematic form first I think clears up all the other explanations for most people. Here is a link of the basic way they work and the two methods depending where the power comes to first. Here is a link to a schematic drawing and then it shows you the equivalent with a real switch.

http://www.ezdiyelectricity.com/?page_id=381

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2013, 01:09 PM  
PangioneDevelopers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Edgewater, New Jersey
Posts: 21
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Hello
Technically yes you can jump a feed from an outlet over to a new switch that will feed a new light.

You may want to hire an electrician but it's not difficult. If you live in a condo, multi family, coop , you definitely need an electrician.
Good Luck

__________________
PangioneDevelopers is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2013, 02:03 AM  
savatreatabvr
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
Is this a new project or a change to the original switch from a receptacle?
Give us a complete description of what is there now and what you want to accomplish.
I have three existing wall lights in my hallway controlled by three separate switches, each light has it's own switch and they're all at one end of the hallway. What I want to do is replace one of those switches with a 3-way switch and add one 3-way switch at the other end of the hallway to control all three lights together, so basically my girlfriend doesn't have to walk all the way from one end of the long dark scary hallway to the other end to turn the lights on! Ahhhh, the things us men do for beautiful women, lol! I think I need to run a 14/3 between the switches but I'm kind of lost after that and I'm assuming I need to find the feed wire to one of the lights and then wire the switches in some how? This stuff is so much easier for some people!
__________________
savatreatabvr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2013, 02:12 AM  
savatreatabvr
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bud16415 View Post
Doing a google search on 3 way switch will give you dozens of examples and videos of how to do that. They all can be a little confusing as they mostly show you how to wire it without the concept behind what you are doing.

A 3 way switch is a single pole double throw switch and seeing it in schematic form first I think clears up all the other explanations for most people. Here is a link of the basic way they work and the two methods depending where the power comes to first. Here is a link to a schematic drawing and then it shows you the equivalent with a real switch.

http://www.ezdiyelectricity.com/?page_id=381
See that's where I get confused, there are so many different circuit diagrams to figure out on the internet I don't know which one is the right one! I just bought this house and want to do all the work myself, that's just a macho way of saying I'm broke now so I can't hire an electrian, lol!
__________________
savatreatabvr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2013, 06:10 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 965
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Well making one light be on a three way is simple once you get three wire cable (14/3 or 12/3) to the new switch location.
I am going to skip ground wires in the description. Connect all of them together and to the switch if it has a ground screw.

Remove the two wires from the existing switch. Leave everything else alone. The wires could be both black or black and white. Might even be black and red. It doesn't matter.
Connect one of the wires from the old switch to the common screw of your new three way switch#1.
Connect the other wire from the old switch to the black wire to your new switch#2 cable.
Connect the red and white wires to the remaining two traveller screws of the new switch#1.

At new switch#2 connect the black to the common screw.
Connect the red and white wires to the remaining two traveller screws of the new switch#2.


The problem comes in connecting all three lights into this one pair of switches. How to do that would depend on the current wiring in the triple switch box.



__________________

Last edited by JoeD; 10-20-2013 at 06:13 PM.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
GFI Outlet / Seperate Light Switch - Light won't turn off!? cheri28 Electrical and Wiring 46 03-15-2013 01:42 PM
Adding a light and outlet to new room swindmill Electrical and Wiring 14 05-11-2010 05:16 PM
adding switch and light at end of circuit half.italian Electrical and Wiring 10 01-03-2010 10:28 PM
rewire light from switch to light davidh424 Electrical and Wiring 3 01-12-2009 08:56 PM
ceiling light wiring affecting light in another room johnm Electrical and Wiring 4 05-25-2008 12:55 AM