DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Adding a sub-panel




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 07:49 AM  
drewdin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 391
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 78

Default Adding a sub-panel

So i just had my 6 fuse panel upgraded to a 100 amp 20 breaker panel. Upon finishing my electrician tells me that he ran out of breakers and he wished he added a 30 as he short a few circuits. He also mentioned that he is retiring on the 16th and I am going to need someone to add a 60 amp sub panel for the remaining circuits. The way it turned out, the previous owner had 6 fuses with multiple upon multple wires going to each one.

He said it was easy to add the sub panel and based off what he has seen me do that I could do it, just remove two single breakers add a 60 amp breaker and then run that wire to a sub panel with 10 more slots.

My question is, is it that easy? I'm pretty confident with electricity and want to attempt this project but i want to get all the info I can before I do it. Any tips, suggestions, precautions? Thanks

Drew



__________________
drewdin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 03:44 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,167
Liked 99 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

He said it was easy because that's what he does. To others it may be deadly.
There are more details and considerations to be thought out before attempting this.
First on your list is to pull a permit or just hire another electrician.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 06:51 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,271
Liked 159 Times on 146 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default

You could start here
http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=%22grounding+a+sub+panel%22&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
There should be less than a 5% voltage drop from your main load center to the most distant outlet at your rated current draw.

Flesh out the whole design before you buy a single part.

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2012, 07:17 AM  
drewdin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 391
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 78

Default

Thanks Wuzzat, I plan on getting a square D 24-12 panel, 6-3 connecting wire, a 60 amp breaker from the main to the sub panel and removing the green connector ground screw from the sub panel.

I feel pretty confident now, thanks

__________________
drewdin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 07:56 AM  
drewdin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 391
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 78

Default

The sub panel was added, any suggestions or comments are welcome!

2012-12-31-14.34.28.jpg  
__________________
drewdin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 10:00 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 929
Liked 91 Times on 76 Posts

Default

More staples on the cable within a foot of the box.

The sub panel feed on the left I would have come straight out the bottom and into the top of the panel. I might even have used a short conduit and just used THHN wires instead of cable.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 10:48 AM  
drewdin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 391
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 78

Default

I wanted to come straight down but bending the 6-3 romex was a pain in the ***. It was easier and cheaper to buy two 3/4 cable grips and make a loop then try to bend the cable. Also, the price difference between 1-1/4 cable glands and 3/4" was $1.50 vs $8 bucks.

Whats the difference between THHN and 6-3 romex, why would you have ussed THHN? thanks

__________________

Last edited by drewdin; 01-03-2013 at 01:21 PM.
drewdin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 01:52 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 929
Liked 91 Times on 76 Posts

Default

6/3 romex is a cable. THHN is a wire that gets used in conduit.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 11:57 AM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,271
Liked 159 Times on 146 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default

THHN is an acronym for an insulation type on wire that is useful for specific applications.



__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ceiling pot lights without running new wire from panel condoowner Electrical and Wiring 10 08-01-2012 03:51 PM
Electrical Panel mmaarrkk Electrical and Wiring 3 09-12-2011 05:50 PM
hot tub sub panel help seaox Electrical and Wiring 4 10-20-2009 06:53 PM
Exterior breaker panel for adding a barn jayhalfpipe Electrical and Wiring 3 11-01-2008 10:35 AM