DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > adding switch and light at end of circuit





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2009, 02:13 PM  
half.italian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default adding switch and light at end of circuit

Hi!

I never realized how confusing wiring could be until now. :\

I am trying to add an outside light with a switch controlling it to an existing circuit. The way it is currently wired, I think the current switch is at the end of the circuit. There are three wires coming into the switch box (black, red, white). Black and red show 120 volts, and black and white show 120 volts.

I have run a new 14/2 wire into the switch box from the new light. How can I wire the switches so that they each switch one light?

I think I could do it if the power was coming into the switch first, but this setup has had me confused for two days!

Thanks in advance.

~Sean



__________________
half.italian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2009, 08:20 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

How were the wires connected in the old switch box? Is the existing switch one of a pair that control a light?

You might not be able to do it.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 10:35 AM  
half.italian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I don't remember how they were connected, but I can get the current switch to work by connecting up red and black to it, or (I think) by connecting up white and black to it.

They are individual switches, and yes I planned to use two of them in a double gang switch box to control both lights.

Since both red and black are hot, I was thinking I could power the second light from red, but I couldn't figure out how to complete the circuit. Then again...maybe red is a second neutral since black and red complete a circuit...im confused!

~Sean

__________________
half.italian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 10:39 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

Sounds like you opened a two-way switch.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 10:43 AM  
half.italian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Sounds like you opened a two-way switch.
What does that mean? Is it good or bad?
__________________
half.italian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 11:20 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

Are there only three wires in the box?
Were they all conencted to the old switch?
Was there more than one switch contolling the old light? Could you turn the old light off from two differnt locations?

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 11:36 AM  
half.italian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default

There are only three wires coming into the box. Plus the two I just ran.

The house is old, and I bought it about six months ago. I haven't found any other switch that controls the light... I'm pretty sure it can only be controlled from this switch. It's actually a fan/light combo if that makes a difference.

I think only the black and white were connected to the last switch, and the red was capped... not positive though.

Thanks both of you for your help so far.

__________________
half.italian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 01:47 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

Sounds like it was setup so that a fan and light could be controlled separately.

You may need to make some changes in the fixture. Please open the fixture and tell us all the wire connections. Do not change anything at the fixture at this point.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 03:59 PM  
half.italian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default

LOL... I think this added another layer of complexity to the situation. At the fixture there are only two wires coming in (black and white) and they are not of the same gauge that I am getting at the switch. These two wires must go to another junction box (located above the fixture)

In the fixture, blue (motor) and black (lamp) go to the black from the source, and white goes to the white from the source.

I guess I need to go to the junction box and see if I can isolate the connections from there down to the switch now! I probably wont check today, but will post back with what I find when I do.

I see a glimmer of hope. Thanks.

~Sean

__________________
half.italian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2010, 03:57 PM  
half.italian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Just wanted to report back. I finally got it to work. I don't really understand how it works, but it works.

I had to go to the junction box above the fixture, and rewire some connections. I had to make two main changes there. 1. Disconnect the red wire going to the switch from another red wire going to an unused outlet. Then connect the black wire from the light to the red wire going to the switch. 2. Add white from source to the (already connected) white from the light and white wire to switch.

Once that was done, the switch wiring fell into place. Very confusing, but I ended up learning a lot.

I found these great diagrams that finally made sense to me... check them out!

How To Wire a Switch - Light then Switch then Outlet

Thanks for your help!

~Sean



__________________
half.italian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Adding New Circuit to full breaker box vtfan99 Electrical and Wiring 6 01-26-2010 10:18 AM
adding a second switch Ronniebaby Electrical and Wiring 4 10-24-2009 06:18 AM
How many light/switches per circuit? leeym Electrical and Wiring 7 02-10-2009 05:10 AM
rewire light from switch to light davidh424 Electrical and Wiring 3 01-12-2009 08:56 PM
Adding circuit to recessed exterior breaker box jon_no_h Electrical and Wiring 5 06-05-2008 12:09 AM