DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Always Searching for Something




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2014, 07:34 AM  
Fireguy5674
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Illinois
Posts: 182
Liked 35 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

This stuff has no ground wire at all. There are lots of places around here where there are plastic insulated wires with no grounds. When did the code start requiring grounds? I helped my Dad wire our new house in the early 70's and all that wire had grounds.
Another question. What does NEC say about using a 12-3 w G to run two separate circuits assuming the red and black are on two separate single pole breakers? I have seen it done and have read conflicting things about whether or not it is allowed. I would think there is a potential to overload the neutral. On the project I just finished, as I mentioned, someone had two separate circuits tied to a 30 amp double pole breaker with a 10-3 cable. I replaced that wire with two 12-2 w G wires on two 20 amp single pole breakers. I know the original setup was a no no. If one circuit saw an overload would that breaker have tripped? My guess is probably but certainly not a good scenario.



__________________
Fireguy5674 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 08:04 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,714
Liked 791 Times on 706 Posts
Likes Given: 1354

Default

I think the two breaker have to be tied together so they bot kick at the same time. We see that in new houses.



__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 08:34 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,116
Liked 319 Times on 253 Posts
Likes Given: 106

Default

It’s called a multi branch circuit and is allowed. The red and black are out of phase so the white wire only sees one load at a time. That’s the logic to it. Neal is correct about the breakers.

If you have no safety ground (bare copper) you can bring it up to code at the outlet using a GFCI outlet and placing a sticker on it that says something like “no safety ground”.

The pros will be along and can give you the code reference.

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2014, 05:19 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,714
Liked 791 Times on 706 Posts
Likes Given: 1354

Default

Here is pretty good write up about the wire, I would be more worried if I found Al.
http://www.lamorteelectric.com/cloth-wire.html

__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Searching for water meter parts smookedtrout General Home Improvement Discussion 2 03-24-2010 09:44 PM