DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Bedroom Light Switches





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2012, 12:49 PM  
92sb4x4oh
Junior Member
 
92sb4x4oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Columbus,, Ohio
Posts: 19
Default Bedroom Light Switches

I have read and heard that now all bedroom lights must be on either dimmer switches or "manual-on occupancy sensor". What does his mean concerning the rewiring that I would like to do in my home. I thought I could just put in single pole on/off switches. Also, can I put remote controls on any ceiling fans that I install during the rewiring? Thank you.



__________________
92sb4x4oh is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2012, 12:54 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

Must be a local thing. First time I heard that one. Current code does require a neutral wire in all switch boxes. This allows installation of the types of switches you describe that require a neutral connection.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2012, 02:00 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92sb4x4oh View Post
I have read and heard that now all bedroom lights must be on either dimmer switches or "manual-on occupancy sensor".
Where have you heard/read this??
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2012, 04:18 PM  
92sb4x4oh
Junior Member
 
92sb4x4oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Columbus,, Ohio
Posts: 19
Default Info

I read it on a web site 'Ask the Electricain' Since he is out in California it could be a California thing.

__________________
92sb4x4oh is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2012, 04:33 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

It could be possible in California. They have some energy saving stuff in their codes. I think fluorescents are required in some rooms as code.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 12:09 AM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,056
Liked 266 Times on 216 Posts
Likes Given: 105

Default

I am in CA. If you are replacing old switches, you can change out like-for-like. I have NOT encountered a local code requiring dimmers or sensors. Keep it simple.



__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
PLEASE HELP: Wiring two light switches in one box jukim39 Electrical and Wiring 5 10-15-2011 03:56 AM
unusual light switches mintset Electrical and Wiring 12 07-21-2011 04:19 PM
Help with light switches in a 1957 ranch... elizabeth2424 General Home Improvement Discussion 3 08-19-2009 11:39 PM
How many light/switches per circuit? leeym Electrical and Wiring 7 02-10-2009 05:10 AM
Two switches one light - lost my way. John Electrical and Wiring 6 11-17-2006 02:15 AM