DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Build Thread: LED Light Strip with Automatic Door Switch for Kitchen Pantry or Closet




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2014, 01:00 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Jay View Post
Thought you were trying to get light to see by. I don't go for Wow factor just practicably. And yes I still use incandescent bulbs.

Nothing wrong with incandescents. My hope with this project is that light coming from all angles will result in a more even distribution around the closet. Mounting only one incandescent from above would create some pretty funky shadows and dark spaces in here.

Time will tell if this works out. I'll pop back in to give my results and thoughts. Probably won't be able to start the project until next weekend.


__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 01:06 PM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 909
Liked 253 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 95

Default

In the after photos I expect to see substantial volume level reduction of everything on the top shelf of the pantry. That way we will know you did proper planning before beginning work.



__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 01:25 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bud16415 View Post
In the after photos I expect to see substantial volume level reduction of everything on the top shelf of the pantry. That way we will know you did proper planning before beginning work.

Whistle while you work!
__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 05:21 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,822
Liked 660 Times on 591 Posts
Likes Given: 1171

Default

A motion sensor switch may be easier than digging into door frames??

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 06:04 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
A motion sensor switch may be easier than digging into door frames??
It sure would be! That's so simple, I didn't even think about it.

How's this? http://www.homedepot.com/p/Lutron-Maestro-2-Amp-Single-Pole-Occupancy-Sensing-Switch-White-MS-OPS2H-WH/203202128?N=c32r#
__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 06:08 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,822
Liked 660 Times on 591 Posts
Likes Given: 1171

Default

I have seen them installed but I have no experience with them. http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/SectionDisplay.jsp?section=62870&minisite=10251

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 06:11 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

In that case, please refer to this photo. Could I just tap into the wires for the hallway light switch? Seems simple to me.

imageuploadedbyhome-repair1389402643.355294.jpg

__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 06:19 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,822
Liked 660 Times on 591 Posts
Likes Given: 1171

Default

If you have just a white and black going to the switch, no the power is going to the light first. If you have 2 whites tied together and 2 black going to the switch, likely yes, but then you could just add another switch there.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 06:33 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

This is what's back there. Note: this is a 65 year old house.

imageuploadedbyhome-repair1389403897.941964.jpg

imageuploadedbyhome-repair1389403936.677534.jpg

imageuploadedbyhome-repair1389403985.680345.jpg

__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 06:38 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,822
Liked 660 Times on 591 Posts
Likes Given: 1171

Default

That is a threeway switch, the power is going to the light or the other switch, so no you can not get power from there.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace this door strip m2244 General Home Improvement Discussion 3 12-15-2013 04:37 PM
GFI Outlet / Seperate Light Switch - Light won't turn off!? cheri28 Electrical and Wiring 46 03-15-2013 01:42 PM
auto shutoff for pantry door ricks Electrical and Wiring 1 11-09-2009 12:55 PM
Closet Door Opens, Lights On, Shut door, Light off harleysilo Electrical and Wiring 9 01-20-2009 10:58 PM