DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Build Thread: LED Light Strip with Automatic Door Switch for Kitchen Pantry or Closet




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2014, 09:41 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
That is a threeway switch, the power is going to the light or the other switch, so no you can not get power from there.
Literally impossible? Unsafe? Against code? All of the above?

If you could be more specific that'd be great.


__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2014, 08:16 AM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,183
Liked 140 Times on 127 Posts
Likes Given: 79

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trogdor View Post
Whether there'll be enough light is the very last of my worries. There's already enough light to see what we need as it is. This is 25% practical and 75% fun project/wow factor.

And then you account for the fact there are 300 LEDs on that strip. Too dim? Yeah, right.
With your reasoning on this project I give you less than 50-50 on the 25% practical that it will work as planned. But you might get lucky.

Also, the new 25/75 split seems like
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moving_the_goalposts

This makes four cents, total.


__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 01-11-2014 at 08:26 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2014, 08:31 AM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trogdor View Post
Literally impossible? Unsafe? Against code? All of the above?

If you could be more specific that'd be great.

Never mind, I thought about it more. Makes sense now.
__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2014, 09:24 AM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,174
Liked 333 Times on 262 Posts
Likes Given: 125

Default

I have done LED in kitchens. The usual setup is to install a receptacle inside the upper protion of a cabinet and plug the transformer into it. All feed wires feed from that point.

EMBEDDED SWITCH
In your case, I would tap into the receptacle across the hall and install a receptacle high up, to the hinge side of the closet. Since the feed wires (you need a power leg and a switch leg) are low volt, you can drop them down from there along the hinge side of the door jamb inside the wall (you are OK with some drywall damage, yes?). Install the switch in the hinge side by drilling through the framing (jamb + jack stud + kind stud). Run the feed wires to the switch, connect them, install the switch.

Now you need to run the switch leg to your first LED light strip, then any others, sequentially.

MOTION SENSOR
An alternative would be tu use a motion sensor instead of an embedded switch. I have done this in walk-in closets. If you REALLY want to have a WOW factor, try this ... Run the power from your source receptacle to the closet ceiling. Install a switch box with a motion sensor. Run the switch leg over to another receptacle mounted high and behind the wall with the door. The receptacle will be activated when the motion sensor turns it on. Plug your transformer into this receptacle.

Now, you can run your LED hookup wires inside the wall for a clean installation. The picture shows this arrangement on the sidewall ... you could also do it this way if you like.

led.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by CallMeVilla; 01-11-2014 at 09:27 AM.
CallMeVilla is offline  
trogdor Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2014, 06:02 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Awesome info! Thank you.

__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2014, 10:14 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,174
Liked 333 Times on 262 Posts
Likes Given: 125

Default

Trogdor, I enjoyed my answer so much I am going to "Like" myself.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2014, 05:50 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,945
Liked 677 Times on 606 Posts
Likes Given: 1200

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trogdor View Post
Never mind, I thought about it more. Makes sense now.
It just won't work.
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2014, 12:27 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,183
Liked 140 Times on 127 Posts
Likes Given: 79

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
It just won't work.
So what's the fallback position?
__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2014, 05:30 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,945
Liked 677 Times on 606 Posts
Likes Given: 1200

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wuzzat? View Post
So what's the fallback position?
He was asking about the switch, the fall back is the outlet he wanted to use when he started.
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2014, 10:36 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,174
Liked 333 Times on 262 Posts
Likes Given: 125

Default

Trogdor, listen to Neal about the switch. It is a 3-way switch, so the power leg is interrupted by a separate switch. What you want (and what I thought you were going to do) is to take power from an outlet which is always hot.

Stop messing with that switch!

Take your lumps by accessing the outlet and looping your romex to the inside of the closet. You can then tie the power into a motion sensor which feeds power to a receptacle where your LED transformer is plugged.

Do it that way and it is both possible and meets code.



pantry.jpg  
__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace this door strip m2244 General Home Improvement Discussion 3 12-15-2013 04:37 PM
GFI Outlet / Seperate Light Switch - Light won't turn off!? cheri28 Electrical and Wiring 46 03-15-2013 01:42 PM
auto shutoff for pantry door ricks Electrical and Wiring 1 11-09-2009 12:55 PM
Closet Door Opens, Lights On, Shut door, Light off harleysilo Electrical and Wiring 9 01-20-2009 10:58 PM