DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Build Thread: LED Light Strip with Automatic Door Switch for Kitchen Pantry or Closet




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2014, 11:04 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,975
Liked 684 Times on 612 Posts
Likes Given: 1209

Default

Everytime I see one of these pantry doors with an eched glass in it I ask what the glass is for. The quick answer comes just before the dumb smile and answer is always the same.
( To let the light in )



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2014, 07:13 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Did some test fitting tonight, and I am very excited about what the preliminary results are showing. The photos are just slightly darker than real life. The light is a touch cool for my tastes, but I also purchased a strand of lights that were called warm white, so maybe those will be more my style. Haven't plugged them in yet.

Before and After

imageuploadedbyhome-repair1390011112.361140.jpg

imageuploadedbyhome-repair1390011147.977208.jpg

Picking the wrong libation can be devastating. This requires good lighting!

imageuploadedbyhome-repair1390011201.448382.jpg

imageuploadedbyhome-repair1390011233.401151.jpg



__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2014, 05:00 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,206
Liked 146 Times on 133 Posts
Likes Given: 80

Default

So did 24 watts worth of LED light work out for a closet of this size?

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2014, 09:18 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,975
Liked 684 Times on 612 Posts
Likes Given: 1209

Default

I like it, looks great, have you found a switch yet? I think this kind of thing would be great for storage like under the stairs.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2014, 11:08 AM  
bryce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 143
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

I would suggest you run the light strips under each level. You can use this for the connections:

here's you switch

__________________

Last edited by bryce; 01-20-2014 at 11:10 AM.
bryce is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 06:27 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Can someone confirm the wiring if I am going to go this route? I'm using a Lutron motion sensor. It has 4 wires: two black, one green, and one unshielded. Based on the instructions, I believe the green and unshielded are both grounds.

__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 07:00 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I have the lights on and running. Just need to make sure y'all concur with my set-up.


imageuploadedbyhome-repair1390355094.259403.jpg

imageuploadedbyhome-repair1390356052.022956.jpg

__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 08:29 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,975
Liked 684 Times on 612 Posts
Likes Given: 1209

Default

No and No
The outlet you are starting from has white on one side and black on the other side. Black to brass screw and white to the silver screw. Do not add more wires to the screws, use pigtails instead.
1. remove the outlet and make a short white and black pigtail about 6" long. Twist the 3 blacks together and add a wire nut, twist the 3 whites together and add a wire nut tape the nuts and re-install the outlet using the pigtails and don't forget to join all the grounds and the box and the outlet..
2. in the switch box, join the 2 white wires together with a wire nut. Each black wire from the switch gets a black, one from the other outlet and one to the new outlet, don't forget the grounds, green and bear.
3 in the new outlet, white to the silver side black to the brass side.

This unit will not work if the grounds are not hooked up.

__________________

Last edited by nealtw; 01-21-2014 at 08:39 PM.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 08:33 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I'm sorry, but I'm having a hard time following those directions. Could you sketch it out?

__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 09:52 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,975
Liked 684 Times on 612 Posts
Likes Given: 1209

Default

Try this ..................



switched-outlet.jpg  
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace this door strip m2244 General Home Improvement Discussion 3 12-15-2013 04:37 PM
GFI Outlet / Seperate Light Switch - Light won't turn off!? cheri28 Electrical and Wiring 46 03-15-2013 01:42 PM
auto shutoff for pantry door ricks Electrical and Wiring 1 11-09-2009 12:55 PM
Closet Door Opens, Lights On, Shut door, Light off harleysilo Electrical and Wiring 9 01-20-2009 10:58 PM