DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Build Thread: LED Light Strip with Automatic Door Switch for Kitchen Pantry or Closet




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2014, 06:11 AM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Yeah, I'm still not following. It looks like you're saying the white wire skips the switch, but you drew it going straight through. I don't see where the pig tails are appearing in your sketch. And you have the ground only touching the switch but skipping all the others?



__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2014, 07:10 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,014
Liked 289 Times on 228 Posts
Likes Given: 102

Default

It’s ok to pick up your supply from the existing outlet but in your sketch you don’t have the existing outlet shown correctly.

An outlet has 5 screws 2 brass screws 2 silver screws and 1 green screw for the bare ground wire. The 2 brass and 2 silvers are jumpered together with a tab between the screws. You show white and black coming in to the same side of the switch and that would be a dead short. As Neil said the black goes to the brass screw and the white goes to the silver the bare copper goes to the green. That wires both outlets in parallel and open until you plug something into the outlet.

You can then extend that circuit to your motion sensor and have that turn an outlet on and off that has your lights plugged into.


It’s always a judgment call when giving advice as to if the receiver of the advice is going to be able to safely do the task. You seem to have a desire to learn more about home wiring and I would suggest you buy a basic how to book on home wiring and read it cover to cover to get the basic concepts of switches and outlets etc fixed then take on some of these projects with help from the forum.



__________________
bud16415 is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2014, 07:23 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,337
Liked 732 Times on 653 Posts
Likes Given: 1281

Default

The white does skip the switch, but if the switch is in it's own box the white wires have to join the box. I just took a photo of the screen and the grounds didn't show up.
The pig tails are in the old box so you don't hook all the wire to the outlet.
Look at it like a bath tub the black wire is the faucet the white wire is the drain and the ground is the overflow.

I found these instructions online, so if you are understanding this, go back to your instructions and make sure they are the same as I found.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2014, 07:36 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,014
Liked 289 Times on 228 Posts
Likes Given: 102

Default

The idea of the pig tails is you don’t want to have two wires connected to one screw when making a connection to an outlet. Many people make two hooks on two wires and then run the screw all the way out to jam them both under the screw head and clamp them under one screw. The proper way is to make the pig tail and then collect all the wires together in the back of the box with wire nuts. The same goes for ground screw only one wire under that screw.

Now there are two of the brass and silver screws and I have seen where people use the other screw to continue the circuit. What Neil was saying was to do those with pig tails also and just have the jumper to supply power to the other half of the first outlet and not have it carry all the downstream power.

I really don’t know what code says about the first method but the pig tail method is better IMO as it keeps the final wiring simpler if the outlet ever needs to be replaced.

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2014, 03:48 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Yes, I'm sorry, I did draw the outlet incorrectly.

Hooked everything up and ran it for two hours last night, with no problems. The motion detector works fine, and everything seems good. I will post a photo of the actual set up before proceeding further. Thanks for the helpful information so far.

__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2014, 03:58 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,337
Liked 732 Times on 653 Posts
Likes Given: 1281

Default

Glad to hear it, I was starting to worry about never getting there.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2014, 04:07 PM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I was using 12/3 wire at home because that's what I had laying around. The guy here at Home Depot tells me that's way overkill. What's a smaller wire that would be suitable for my application?

__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2014, 04:22 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,337
Liked 732 Times on 653 Posts
Likes Given: 1281

Default

If the breaker for the outlet is 15 amp and should be, then you want 14/2. It will have a black, white and ground.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2014, 05:42 AM  
trogdor
burninator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I decided the LED driver plug was ugly and unnecessary, given that it required a outlet to be wired when one was not previously needed. This is what I have now. It seems to work great.

imageuploadedbyhome-repair1390480926.208097.jpg

__________________
trogdor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2014, 07:09 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,337
Liked 732 Times on 653 Posts
Likes Given: 1281

Default

Can you post a pic of th driver set up.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace this door strip m2244 General Home Improvement Discussion 3 12-15-2013 04:37 PM
GFI Outlet / Seperate Light Switch - Light won't turn off!? cheri28 Electrical and Wiring 46 03-15-2013 01:42 PM
auto shutoff for pantry door ricks Electrical and Wiring 1 11-09-2009 12:55 PM
Closet Door Opens, Lights On, Shut door, Light off harleysilo Electrical and Wiring 9 01-20-2009 10:58 PM