DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Can I run electrical under concrete slab without cutting a trench





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2011, 08:15 AM  
starfish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: vero beach, fl
Posts: 1
Default Can I run electrical under concrete slab without cutting a trench

Hi, I am new to this forum. We bought a house and will *hopefully* be closing on it by the end of this week. It is a relatively new home that was a forclosure. It has tile (the same tile) throughout the home. There are no "leftover" tiles that we can find and we don't know where the tile came from. It's a little unusual. We are planning on redoing the kitchen and would like to have an island with a cooktop. But, we don't want to disturbe the tile by cutting a trench through the concrete slab, since we don't have any way of replacing the tile. Is there any way to bore under the slab and install a conduit for the electrical and just cut a hole in the concrete where the island will be? Many thanks for any help/advice.



__________________
starfish is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2011, 11:10 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

If you have enough money you can do anything.
I could see this being done from outside possibly. They would bore from the outside in a line that would cross both locations and then bore down to meet it. Might be cheaper to just retile the whole area.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2011, 05:40 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 7,741
Liked 542 Times on 491 Posts
Likes Given: 1000

Default

Always willing to try anything once. I would drill thru the foundtion below the leval of the floor and foam and see if I could work a pipe into the area of the island. If that doesn't work you have done little dammge, and if it does work you could cut hole in the floor under the island and cupboard, If no cupboard in that area then dig into outside wall chip away some concrete so you can install conduit or underground wire.
I would try it.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2011, 11:03 AM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,063
Liked 269 Times on 219 Posts
Likes Given: 106

Default

If you cut out a larger section from under the existing cabinet, you "could" dig under the slab and get to the location of the island stub-out. "Boring" is too limited because you cannot make the turn. However, the tools to make that 90 degree dig don't exist! If you start outside, you could dig a trench large enough to undercut the foundation -- but that means under the footing depth. I wouldn't crawl in there for all the $$$ in China.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2011, 09:28 PM  
edlank
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 49
Default

Is the kitchen tile floor really on a concrete slab? No framing and crawlspace under there?

__________________
edlank is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2011, 10:33 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 7,741
Liked 542 Times on 491 Posts
Likes Given: 1000

Default

Ed, this is pan slab or slab on grade floor. What I have seen here is the slab on grade will have foam on the inside of the foundation or under the floor or both and a pan slab has all that foam and another on the outside. The bottom line is the house is built on a basement floor.
Let me make this clearer. If you drill into the foundation with 1 1/2 drill 6" down, 8 or 10 inches in you will find sand. Drive a 1" diamiter steel pipe in there to the area of the island. Remove that pipe and put in the conduit with string in it. Dig a hole in the island area and at the wall so you can put the elbows on your conduit.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2011, 09:08 AM  
reillypainting
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2
Default

No you can't, because you will have city codes that will need it below 8-16." It'll depend on the type of conduit or wire you will be using. Cement slab could be on top after.

__________________
reillypainting is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2011, 01:53 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 7,741
Liked 542 Times on 491 Posts
Likes Given: 1000

Default

Reilly is right , check with local inspectors first.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 09:14 PM  
Raindem
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Posts: 38
Likes Given: 1

Default

Is it possible to work a pillar into your design? Then you could run the wires through the ceiling and bring them down from above.

__________________
Raindem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2011, 07:30 AM  
Ithinktoomuch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Posts: 1
Default Does the wire have to be underground? Save money

Could you possibly run the wire upwards into the ceiling? (Do you have low ceinings?) if you run the wire upwards (center of island) you could frame around the conduit and incorporate a tiled (pillar) inthe middle of the island! Just a suggestion!



__________________
Ithinktoomuch is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to insulate concrete slab cibula11 Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 13 01-14-2010 05:27 PM
Precautions when cutting concrete Outbacker Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 9 03-27-2009 06:36 AM
Concrete slab vs. crawlspace? debraanne Framing and Foundation 4 08-04-2008 11:40 AM
cutting a hole for an electrical outlet daniel2229 General Home Improvement Discussion 9 07-22-2008 04:24 PM
Concrete Slab adobe fixer Framing and Foundation 0 03-23-2006 10:23 PM