DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Changing Switch to Recptacle




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 09:28 AM  
SavvyCat
Member
 
SavvyCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 77
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Changing Switch to Recptacle

Where did I go wrong?

I had two switches by the back door, one controlled the porch light and the other just controlled a fan switch on the fireplace for forced air, i.e., the switch had to be on for the fan switch to work and didn't seem to serve any other purpose. I replaced the fan switch on the fireplace with a switch/receptacle combo because there are no receptacle on that wall and wanted one for a lamp on the mantle. Works great! I decided to replace the switch that powered it with a duplex outlet so it would be always on and provide more receptacles to that wall. Just FYI, it's all 15 amp and the same circuit powers three duplex outlets in the bedroom.

The original wiring had three sets of black, white, and bare. All of the white wires bundled with a cap and tucked in the back. The bare were just twisted and stuffed. One black went to switch #1, the second black went to switch #1, looped over the screw and the to switch #2, and the third went to switch #2. When I installed the receptacle I copied what was on the switch and then pulled the two applicable white white wires from the bundle and attached them to the silver screws on the duplex, and then tucked the remaining white back where it was. The outlet works, but the switch does not.

I'm guessing I need something else with that last white wire. When I put in the combo on the fireplace, I had to pigtail a piece to the white wire bundle in that gang box (someone else told me), and I'm wondering if I'm supposed to do something similar here. If so, do I only have to do one, or do I need two, one for each terminal?

Thanks for the help!



__________________
SavvyCat is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2009, 05:15 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

You need all the whites connected together. You left one circuit with no return path.
Connect the three white together with a short 6 inch pigtail. Connect the pigtail to the silver screw on the receptacle.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2009, 05:28 PM  
SavvyCat
Member
 
SavvyCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 77
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Thanks! I guess I was on the right track, but couldn't make it to the finish line. So I only need just one silver, not both? You're a prince!

__________________
SavvyCat is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @ 1001miles HVAC 6 11-02-2008 11:03 AM
Trane XE90 Pressure switch code. Truth? showngo2000 HVAC 7 10-13-2008 04:26 PM
Ceiling fan with 4 way switch. gan_nair Electrical and Wiring 4 08-13-2008 06:12 PM
Illuminated wall switch glows but bulbs won't light Paul in Maryland Electrical and Wiring 3 10-21-2007 08:34 AM
Dinning room switch Blair1955 Electrical and Wiring 9 06-22-2007 05:25 AM