DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Circuit breaker pops




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2006, 10:34 AM  
Vreelandjr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default Circuit breaker pops

After I had a new electric range installed the house circuit breaker for the range circuit started to pop every now and then when the range is operating at full load (all the burners and oven are turned on ) but not every time. The circuit breaker is 50 amps and the intermittent nature of the problem indicates to me that the maximum current draw of the range is right on the 50 amp limit. Can I safely replace the 50 amp breaker with a 60 amp breaker, or how can I tell if this is possible ie. the load capacity of the wire for that circuit.??(I have aluminum wiring in the house and the breaker is Al/Cu compatible)



__________________
Vreelandjr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2006, 02:07 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Welcome to the Forum Vreelandjr:
Aluminum wire scares me to death. I don't know how many recepticals we have found burned from aluminum. I would first change the wire out for copper. Your supplier can tell you what size to get and I would venture the breaker will never pop again.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2006, 02:46 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

There is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING wrong with larger aluminum wiring. The wiring that receptacles were on is smaller wiring and is now illegal and is/was very unsafe. There is a VAST difference.
One cannot accurately put out a blanket statement that all AL wiring is bad.


Vreelandjr, what is the KW rating of the range and what size is the wire?

__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2006, 05:33 PM  
Vreelandjr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Will have to get data.
Range user manual does not have electrical specs. Assume there is a data plate on back of range, but will have to pull out range from cabinets to get to it (or from Whirlpool on Monday).
W/R/T size of installed wire, how do I tell??

__________________
Vreelandjr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2006, 06:55 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

The range rating plate should be inside one of the door frames, not in back.
The wire will be marked on the sheathing.

__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2006, 12:07 AM  
Snoonyb
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 46
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vreelandjr View Post
Will have to get data.
Range user manual does not have electrical specs. Assume there is a data plate on back of range, but will have to pull out range from cabinets to get to it (or from Whirlpool on Monday).
W/R/T size of installed wire, how do I tell??
If you have the make and model number, look it up on your PC.
Also, consider the possibility that the breaker itself is internally deteriorating.
I also will replace aluminum conductors, at every opportunity, with copper.
It's simply more trouble than is lower cost is worth.
__________________

Illigitimas non-carborundum

Snoonyb is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2006, 06:26 AM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoonyb View Post
It's simply more trouble than is lower cost is worth.
I'm wondering if you have any data to explain this. I am very curious.
__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2006, 07:33 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,075
Liked 123 Times on 103 Posts
Likes Given: 302

Default Hmmmm.

Ahhhh the wiring .......

Petey wrote,
There is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING wrong with larger aluminum wiring. The wiring that receptacles were on is smaller wiring and is now illegal and is/was very unsafe. There is a VAST difference.
One cannot accurately put out a blanket statement that all AL wiring is bad.


This is absolutely true, I have to say that mostly the lower amp wiring is the issue due to heat fluctuation with the outlets.
Changing out the larger wires to copper is a waste of time and money.

Petey could explain it better and in more detail I'm sure.

You need to find out the proper amperage to the unit to start, then look at the condition of the breaker itself.

If you have any branch circuit wiring which is AL you should have a licenced electrician evaluate it sooner than later.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2006, 08:33 AM  
bethany14
DIY dummy
 
bethany14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 151
Default

Hey guys, don't know if this is helpful or not...but I just happened to be at the back of my range the other day (replacing an element) and I remember reading that it was made for copper wire, specifically not aluminum. Could this be a factor?

__________________
bethany14 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2006, 08:38 AM  
Vreelandjr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default

The range data plate reads 240V 54.2 Amp.
The wire sheath is marked 6 Al.



__________________
Vreelandjr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Adding New Circuit to full breaker box vtfan99 Electrical and Wiring 6 01-26-2010 10:18 AM
Full circuit breaker box Donna Jean Electrical and Wiring 2 12-31-2008 09:57 PM
Question on shared ground/neutral buss in breaker box banyan Electrical and Wiring 5 06-29-2008 01:39 AM
Adding circuit to recessed exterior breaker box jon_no_h Electrical and Wiring 5 06-05-2008 12:09 AM
Circuit breaker question mmcvicker Electrical and Wiring 19 01-23-2008 04:16 PM