DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Common wire sprinkler timer




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2013, 11:01 AM  
tractng
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 127
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Common wire sprinkler timer

Hello,

Just confirming if I can hook the common wire from my front yard sprinklers and the back yard sprinklers to the same common slot on the timer station.

I am trying to have just one timer workstation instead of two.

Thanks,
TT



__________________
tractng is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 01:31 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Post a link to the specs of the systems.



__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 02:11 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,276
Liked 393 Times on 306 Posts
Likes Given: 161

Default

Yes, I believe that is why they call it "common" ...

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2014, 10:31 AM  
tractng
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 127
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wuzzat? View Post
Post a link to the specs of the systems.

Is an orbit 9 workstations timer.


http://www.orbitonline.com/lib/media...A%2812%291.pdf
__________________
tractng is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2014, 11:35 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 968
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Are these two sprinklers on separate power supplies? If they are I would not be hooking the commons together. It would be like hooking the neutrals from two different branch circuits in your house together.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2014, 02:17 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

See note on pg 7


ote: The maximum loading for each station/pump is 250mA,
the maximum loading for the timer is 500mA.
If the distance between the sprinkler timer and valves is under
700’ (210 m), use Orbit® sprinkler wire or 20 gauge (AWG) plastic
jacketed thermostat wire to connect the sprinkler timer to the
valves. If the distance is over 700’ (210 m), use 16 gauge (AWG) wire.

which implies that you can hook one, or two, pumps to one timer.

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2014, 03:42 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,276
Liked 393 Times on 306 Posts
Likes Given: 161

Default

Oh my ... Can we not confuse the OP? As I read and visualize the OP's situation, he has ONE timer but sprinklers in the front and back. That suggests only ONE power source ... which is the most common configuration for residential applications. If he has TWO separate timers, they would each act as a separate power source BUT the common wire would NEVER be connected bewteen the two timers.

The valve manifold can serve a wide variety of zones, both front and back. The purpose of the timer is to systematically power the valves. The limiting factor is the number of zones which the timer can accommodate, right? If it has power points for six zones it does not care "where" the zones are (front or back). Each of the valves has two wires with one always being connected to the WHITE common wire. The other wires are connected on a color coded basis.

CONCLUSION: If he has only ONE timer, this is an easy problem to solve. If he has TWO timers, there is no reason to connect the common between the two timers.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2014, 10:22 AM  
tractng
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 127
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeVilla View Post
Oh my ... Can we not confuse the OP? As I read and visualize the OP's situation, he has ONE timer but sprinklers in the front and back. That suggests only ONE power source ... which is the most common configuration for residential applications. If he has TWO separate timers, they would each act as a separate power source BUT the common wire would NEVER be connected bewteen the two timers.

The valve manifold can serve a wide variety of zones, both front and back. The purpose of the timer is to systematically power the valves. The limiting factor is the number of zones which the timer can accommodate, right? If it has power points for six zones it does not care "where" the zones are (front or back). Each of the valves has two wires with one always being connected to the WHITE common wire. The other wires are connected on a color coded basis.

CONCLUSION: If he has only ONE timer, this is an easy problem to solve. If he has TWO timers, there is no reason to connect the common between the two timers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttFIbuOExFY
+1. Only one timer. I have 4 sprinkler valves connected to the timer. I like to add 3 additional valves from the backyard to the same timer.

I will purchase a new timer that will accommodate at least 7 stations (replacing old timer).
__________________

Last edited by tractng; 01-06-2014 at 10:29 AM.
tractng is offline  
CallMeVilla Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2014, 06:54 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 01-06-2014 at 07:02 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
generator . my dryer 240 is a 3 wire. do i have to make it a 4 wire? mrcoffee36 Electrical and Wiring 17 11-04-2012 08:57 AM
Noise proofing a common wall daytona Insulation and Radiant Barriers 6 08-18-2012 10:17 PM
Common problems encountered while painting? panzerfaust0 Painting Forum 4 02-23-2012 11:56 PM