DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Converting from Direct Wire Dishwasher to Outlet




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2012, 02:10 PM  
MattSausage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default Converting from Direct Wire Dishwasher to Outlet

Hi folks, reading through the forum here there seems to be a lot of knowledge here and I'm in a bit of a quandry.

I signed up because I've gotten a new dishwasher to replace a 20 year old one that just gave up the ghost.

The old one was direct wired, but the cabling coming out of the wall isn't long enough to reach the wiring box on the new dishwasher (full disclosure: it's very possible I cut the cable too short).

I was thinking I could simply convert the white/black/green directly to an outlet, and mount the box behind the dishwasher and then hook up the dishwasher using the basic plug-in electrical cord.

After all, it seems my only other option is to splice in a cord to make up the difference in length, and to me that doesn't seem to be the safest way to do things.

Any advice? Any reason NOT to convert it to an outlet? The only thing on this breaker is the dishwasher if that's important information.



__________________
MattSausage is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 03:37 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 248
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

That would be the way to do it, Mount a handi box on the wall put an outlet in it and then plug in the new dishwasher.



__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 07:51 AM  
MattSausage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Just FYI, I did just this, and though it took some trial and error since I'd never actually placed a new outlet and box before, the dishwasher is in and working like a charm.

__________________
MattSausage is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 11:41 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,152
Liked 322 Times on 254 Posts
Likes Given: 122

Default

Just a couple of thoughts . . . You were obviously using your brain. Nice. The receptacle box should be in the wall, not mounted on it. Easy to do with an "old work" plastic receptacle box. The space behind a washer is tight enough. Second, the old "hard wired" setup used to be standard but many models come with appliance cord and plugs. Third, use appliance cord, not just left over Romex.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Build Direct: Do Not Buy from them!!!!! writersbrother Flooring 1 12-17-2011 06:11 PM
Direct sun ok? sailor86 Painting Forum 4 06-02-2010 12:37 AM
Nonfunctioning socket - running electrical wire to outlet notwoohoo Electrical and Wiring 3 03-20-2009 04:49 PM
Direct Vent Gas Fireplace hondadrv24 HVAC 4 05-29-2008 09:05 AM
HVAC direct vent question Mom2bac HVAC 6 02-24-2008 07:01 PM