DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Cooktop four wire to three wire




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2011, 05:24 PM  
satish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 2
Default Cooktop four wire to three wire

Hello,

My house wiring is four wire (red, black, white and ground (copper)). My present cooktop is also four wire. This is connected through a terminal block. I want to install a new cooktop which is only three wire (red, black and ground(copper)). The new cooktop instructions say red to red, black to black and ground to ground. What do I do to the white wire that is a part of the house wiring. For the new cooktop, do I leave the house white wire untouched and connected at the terminal block and connect the rest (red to red, etc.)?

Thanks.



__________________
satish is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2011, 07:02 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 112 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

First off, you have to make no assumptions when dealing with electricity.
You have to verify that the black & red are originating from a 2-pole breaker and that the white wire is tied to the neutral bar in the breaker panel.
After you have verified this, then the white wire can be capped off with a wire nut (or just leave connected at the terminal block) and just use the red, black and ground.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2011, 06:16 PM  
satish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the advice. The braeker concerned is 2-pole. Both the old cooktop and new cooktop are 240V. In the old cooktop white neutral was probably needed for 120V indicator lights etc. In the new cooktop (three wire, red, black and ground) only 240V is needed. I assume in this case, I can safely connect red to red, black to black, ground to ground and leave the house circuit white untouched on the terminal box.

Thanks veru much

__________________
satish is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Could wire be bad? broadbill Electrical and Wiring 7 10-26-2010 08:39 PM
What should I do with this wire? DavieGravy Electrical and Wiring 4 08-16-2010 06:12 PM
Oven, How to wire a 4 wire oven to 3 wire recepticle dacrew4009 Electrical and Wiring 6 03-17-2010 09:18 PM
how do I wire this? pixeltarian Electrical and Wiring 23 03-10-2010 08:39 PM
Can I wire this together. Phatboy General Appliance Discussion 4 11-03-2008 10:11 PM