DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > dishwasher/disposal




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2013, 12:21 PM  
floatr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 26
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default dishwasher/disposal

I currently have a dishwasher that has a dedicates 20 amp circuit and is a plug in and wanted to know if I can also set up disposal,1/3 HP plug in,w reset, to the other side of dedicated duplex receptacle .should it be set up where they can only be run one at a time?also does it have to be GFCI,or soon will be required?
Any info is appreciated



__________________
floatr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2013, 08:22 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 447
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Yes, they can share the circuit. No, you don't have to isolate them. No, GFI is not required.



__________________
speedy petey is offline  
oldognewtrick Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2013, 10:03 AM  
floatr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 26
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks,if the distance for the plug is 4 ft and a few inches from disposal will i have to move recepticle closer ?

__________________
floatr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2013, 01:24 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,200
Liked 113 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by floatr View Post
Thanks,if the distance for the plug is 4 ft and a few inches from disposal will i have to move recepticle closer ?
If the cord is less than 4' few", then something is going to have to give.
Either move the outlet closer or get a longer cord.
__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2013, 02:09 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 447
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Well, disposal cords are supposed to be 18-36", so yeah, something's gotta change.
If it were a few inches off total I wouldn't worry about it, but a foot plus a few inches you need to fix.

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2013, 03:31 PM  
floatr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 26
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks ,I got the outlet moved so as to be close enough to both .since I wanted to use a wall switch for the plug in disposal will i need to break the tab on the hot side of outlet, disposal swichlooped to switch, an pigtail it so incoming hot goes to both dishwasher and switch?
Neutral will just go directly to silver on outlet.green screw ground.
Will they be able to both be on or is it single use.
Any info is appreciated

__________________
floatr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2013, 04:28 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,200
Liked 113 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

How many amps is each appliance rated for?

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2013, 09:15 PM  
floatr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 26
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Let me check..the disposal is a 1/3 HP..what would that pull?
I'll check dishwasher tommorow to see if its 50% of circuit ,combined w amps off disposal.
Isn't there a way to set it up where only one side of recepticle can be used at a time where as they both can share if used seperately?

__________________

Last edited by floatr; 08-08-2013 at 09:57 PM.
floatr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 04:55 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 447
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Especially at only 1/3hp you are FINE.
You also do not need any kind of interlock. If you don't want them to be run at the same time, just don't turn on the disp while the DW is running. It's not like it's gonna turn itself on.



__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
New Problem, Old Disposal Point65 Plumbing Forum 4 07-26-2012 07:30 AM
Garbage Disposal DIYerTX General Appliance Discussion 1 04-11-2012 03:27 PM
Garbage Disposal and dishwasher not working Kat42 Plumbing Forum 6 04-14-2009 09:55 PM
Emerson Disposal Jiggersing General Appliance Discussion 3 07-22-2008 09:37 AM
Wiring DW and Disposal newdiyer Electrical and Wiring 10 04-26-2008 07:30 PM