DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Do I Have Enough?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2007, 07:18 AM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default Do I Have Enough?

I was considering installing baseboard heaters in my finished attic. I think I have the basics down as to what I need: 2 pole breaker, 10/3 copper romex run into the space to a switch box for the thermostat, and then from there to the heater. The heater I am looking at is 1500 watt and runs at either 220v or 240v. Do my calculations sound about right? Also, is there a way I can determine if I have enough room on my panel? I will most likely have an electrician come in and make all the connections.



__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 02:30 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

First off, you do NOT need 10/3. If you want, or need, a 30 amp circuit then 10/2 is typical for this type of circuit.
If all you are feeding is this heater, and even another (up to 3840 watts) then 12/2 is perfectly fine. The #12 will be MUCH easier to work with, believe me.

Do you have enough room? Only you can tell.
Are there any open breaker spaces? If not can you install twin breakers to make some room? The panel label can tell you if your panel will accept twin, or tandem, breakers.



__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 02:49 PM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

Thanks.

I'm thinking 15 amp 2 pole breaker, using 12/2. I will run this from my panel to the thermostat in the attic. I will then run the 12/2 wire in one direction toward a 1000W heater and then in another direction toward another 1000W heater. Does this sound correct?

__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 02:50 PM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

I know you can't give a fair estimate on this project, but excluding labor and only the materials, could you provide a ballpark figure??

__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2007, 07:51 PM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

for a ballpark figure I would say about $175,000-$225,000 - what with the price of copper and all.

__________________

[FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"][SIZE="3"][B]Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts[/B][/SIZE][/FONT]

asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2007, 05:36 AM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cibula11 View Post
I'm thinking 15 amp 2 pole breaker, using 12/2. I will run this from my panel to the thermostat in the attic. I will then run the 12/2 wire in one direction toward a 1000W heater and then in another direction toward another 1000W heater. Does this sound correct?
No reason to use a 15 amp breaker. Use a 20 so later if you need to add more heaters you do not have to change the breaker.
As I said, you can have up to 3840 watts of electric heat on a 240v-20a circuit.
__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2007, 07:42 AM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

So, when connecting the wire to the 20 amp breaker, I will NOT have a neutral wire connected to the bus?? Since it is a 220v I would wire both red and black wires to the hot side of the breaker. Is this correct?

__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2007, 12:31 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

If you use the "3-wire" then yes, this is correct.

If you use "2-wire" you use the black and white as your hots connected to the breaker. In this case you must permanently color the white as a hot with a marker, paint, etc, on both ends.

__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2007, 02:31 PM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

upon further inspection I have noticed that I don't have space required for a 2 pole breaker. I already have two tandem breakers 15 and 20 amp. Can I add another15 and 20 tandem to free up the two additional spaces I will need for a 20 amp two pole?

__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2007, 07:20 AM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

I have a 100 amp Cutler Hammer panel. Any suggestions on the maximum number of tandems I can install.



__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On