DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Does this generator quote make sense?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2013, 07:12 AM  
nycatl08
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Default Does this generator quote make sense?

All - I am helping a relative who is in the process of purchasing a Kohler generator. Just for some background, this person owns a 2,200 sq. ft house (on a slab + 2 car garage) in the Deep South (think AL, GA, NC, SC etc) and is looking for a generator that can essentially allow them to operate at “business as usual” capacity in the event of an outage, brownout, etc. (Essentially, they want to be able to run a normal set of electrical equipment – furnace, AC, refrigerator, etc. along with lights with some power left to spare; just to add, they have upstairs/downstairs AC/heating units). My relative got an estimate from a local dealer rep – which I’m including below.
1) Is it conventional to calculate the power needs of the AC / furnace together - are they really additive like this quote suggests?
I’m not an expert – by any means – but right off the bat, it strikes me as somewhat aggressive in terms of calculating power needs (not to mention a calculation error in determining the power needs for the lower power generator).
2) Also, both of these models retail for significantly less than what this quote suggests - what factors would drive those costs up to those levels?
Any help would be greatly appreciated. More than happy to answer any follow-ups.
Thanks much.

Quote:
The 30RESA (125 amps) will be enough to power both upstairs and downstairs AC/Furnace.
Your furnaces combined = 30 amps
Your AC combined = 45 amps
That’s a total of 75 amps.
Leaving us with 50 amps for additional appliances.
The 30RESA is able to do up to 125 amps. Some appliances will have to be added to that, such as your refrigerator so you don’t lose food, but not to exceed 125 amps.
The 20RESA (75 amps) will be enough to power 1 AC and 1 Furnace Your furnace (up or downstairs) = 15 amps Your AC (up or downstairs) = 25 amps That is a total of 50 amps Leaving us with 25 amps for additional appliances. I feel with this generator you will only be left with your freezer and very few lights.
We will add grounding rods on every system we install
The maintenance for both systems will be the same cost. It will need to be serviced twice a year.
The price for the 30RESA is approx $19,000 The price for the 20RESA is approx $13,000


__________________
nycatl08 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2013, 07:45 AM  
Chris
Guru of nothing
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 946
Liked 56 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

I see the error but also maybe they are going for worst case scenario in their math.

I don't know what those units retail for but I am assuming this company is including installation and whatever else will be needed to have a working system?



__________________
Chris is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2013, 08:03 AM  
nycatl08
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Default

As a follow-up ---

The 30RESA retails for ~10k.
The 20RESA retails for ~4k.

Given that I'm not an expert, what "installations/add-ons" could be driving the cost? In the case of the 20RESA - 9k to install a generator seems excessive. This generator will be installed on a flat area of the yard next to the house, so it's not like there is a retaining wall that needs to be built to accommodate it.

Am I missing something here? Thanks again for any follow ups.

__________________
nycatl08 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2013, 08:33 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 914
Liked 85 Times on 71 Posts

Default

You are missing all the electrical work that will need to be done to tie it into the panel and any gas work if they are power by natural gas.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2013, 04:56 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,137
Liked 92 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 59

Default

In addition to the labor/installation costs, the contractor has to eat too, so they markup the price of the generator.
I question the calculations on the A/C units. They typically run 30amps each.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
generator . my dryer 240 is a 3 wire. do i have to make it a 4 wire? mrcoffee36 Electrical and Wiring 17 11-04-2012 08:57 AM
Is Quote Too High? AYColumbia HVAC 4 02-14-2011 06:20 PM
Fire Proof Paint makes so much sense! Dean Little Painting Forum 2 07-12-2009 07:50 PM
New window quote...too much? Quattro Windows and Doors 3 06-30-2008 06:29 PM
Would a garden material make a good cover for my 8 ft pool to make it warmer. It is andrewhomes General Home Improvement Discussion 0 09-17-2007 05:18 AM