DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > double switch




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2008, 02:10 PM  
hoarea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default double switch

can some one try to explaine this to me. i have a double switch i am trying to change it to two single ones problem is in side the box there are only three wires red, black, and white. red is on top left, black is on bottom left and white is on top right. red and black are not connected. the run two different lights and there is no other switchs for them. is it posible to put 2 switches in?



__________________
hoarea is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2008, 03:20 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,167
Liked 100 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

I'm not sure I understand your question.

However, you can not replace a 3-way switch with two one way switches.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2008, 03:44 PM  
hoarea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default

it is not a three way switch. a three way switch would have 2 switches for one light would it not?

__________________
hoarea is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2008, 08:10 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Check again

Horea, I'm quite sure what you are describing is a 3-way switch. Check the switch, it should not say on/off on it. If it does, it will be a first for me. A three way will not have any writing on it. The only thing is where is the other end hiding? Sometimes in a remodel I will disable one end by nutting the black and white together and putting a blank on the box. This allows the other end to act as a single pole. See if you can't gather some more info for us, like how many wires are in the light fixture boxes. Maybe we can help you out with some of those old school tricks. Let us know, good luck....

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2008, 04:32 AM  
hoarea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default

ok. i no it is a double switch with two switch lever, a three way switch has only one switch lever.now one lever turns on a ceiling light in the back room and the other lever turns on a outside light. so this is why i am confused. there should be a forth wire.

__________________
hoarea is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2008, 06:50 AM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Someone may have dropped a 3 wire into the box from the last fixture or from a junction box in the ceiling. The switch sounds like a duplex top/bottom switch.
The power most likely comes in on the white and returns on the red and the black. GET A METER. Check it out. If you can't get a meter, turn the breaker off, connect the black and white. Turn the breaker back on and go look to see which light comes on. turn the breaker back off and connect the white and red, breaker back on, check again which light comes on. If nothing, turn the breaker back off, then try black to red. One of those wires will work with both lights and that will be your common power source. Pigtail it with 2 leads. Run one to each switch. Then the other 2 wires, one to each switch.

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2008, 05:02 AM  
hoarea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default

thanks for all the help. did what square eye said and it worked fine. white was hot

__________________
hoarea is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2008, 08:02 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

YAY!!!

I got ONE right!



__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Switch to Recptacle SavvyCat Electrical and Wiring 2 01-04-2009 05:28 PM
Trane XE90 Pressure switch code. Truth? showngo2000 HVAC 7 10-13-2008 04:26 PM
Ceiling fan with 4 way switch. gan_nair Electrical and Wiring 4 08-13-2008 06:12 PM
Illuminated wall switch glows but bulbs won't light Paul in Maryland Electrical and Wiring 3 10-21-2007 08:34 AM
Dinning room switch Blair1955 Electrical and Wiring 9 06-22-2007 05:25 AM