DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Electric outlet on a concrete floor




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2011, 02:54 PM  
TxBuilder
HRT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
TxBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,677
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTGP View Post
That's why that the Plug would be GFCI protected.
GFCI or not, you're going to feel a jolt. Ask me how I know?


__________________
TxBuilder is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2011, 07:17 PM  
JTGP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 68
Default

Well just to cover your self better Install a Arc fault breaker in the panel. Milli-amps will kill!



__________________
JTGP is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2011, 02:33 PM  
Johnboy555
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lake Forest, CA (Orange County)
Posts: 52
Default

I don't know what these guys are reading???

After the floor is in there is no way to easily provide an outlet in the center of the room. The floor would have to be cut up and a new line run to a outlet box and cover that is designed to be installed in a concrete floor! Then the concrete would have to be redone. Come on GUYS...READ the post before you comment!

__________________
Johnboy555 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2011, 05:41 PM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,059
Liked 417 Times on 348 Posts
Likes Given: 136

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnboy555 View Post
I don't know what these guys are reading???

After the floor is in there is no way to easily provide an outlet in the center of the room. The floor would have to be cut up and a new line run to a outlet box and cover that is designed to be installed in a concrete floor! Then the concrete would have to be redone. Come on GUYS...READ the post before you comment!
Your right, the best way is to cut the concrete and run the new service. I think the responses were to give the OP an alternative to busting up the concrete. At least thats what I got from it...
__________________
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2011, 11:33 PM  
Johnboy555
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lake Forest, CA (Orange County)
Posts: 52
Default

Hey "Old Dog" I'm an old dog too. Been doing home repairs for 36 years. It's not easy doing some things AFTER it's done. I once worked on a job of building a "Club" back in Illinois and the bar was installed. Almost 30 feet of beautiful bar and all the tile work done. When they came in to install the beer taps and misc. They found that there was no piping to run the lines from the cooler to the bar!! Someone screwed up big and it cost about $20,000 to tear up the tile and concrete to run the 4" PVC runs for the hoses!!! Think of what you want to accomplish and make sure to make a schedule!!



__________________
Johnboy555 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
cleaning concrete floor geneaqueen Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 7 08-17-2010 04:56 AM
Converting Concrete porch floor to stone floor jomommaj Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 1 08-26-2009 09:03 PM
Resurfacing Concrete Floor & acid stain floor SPISurfer Flooring 13 12-18-2008 01:54 PM
Concrete Floor Question? Scorask Flooring 1 10-17-2008 12:13 PM
Stained Concrete Floor remodelingdiva Flooring 2 10-02-2007 02:44 PM