DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Electrical Panel Location





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 08:23 AM  
david542
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 19
Default Electrical Panel Location

My panel is in the ban and I would like change the location of it while I keep the power for my pool and my garage. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks



__________________
david542 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2012, 01:43 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

Rent a generator for temporary power while you replace the old service in the barn.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2012, 02:22 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,062
Liked 268 Times on 218 Posts
Likes Given: 106

Default

Moving the panel should not take that long anyway if you (or someone else) knows how to do it. Your big problem will be with the City/Utility people getting there to permit it and turn it off/on.

JoeD is correct because those bureaucrats might take weeks . . . plan for the worst.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2012, 02:35 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,851
Liked 95 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 56

Default

In your own house panel are you allowed to get a large Allen wrench and disconnect the three conductors coming in (after you put on level 2 arc flash PPE)?

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2012, 06:43 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,062
Liked 268 Times on 218 Posts
Likes Given: 106

Default

You have to disconnect the lugs on a panel upgrade or relocation, either way. The overhead service connects at the weatherhead and your panel conductors take over from there.

I woud imagine David will do all the prep work before having the main service disconnected. That would include positioning the new panel and the new weatherhead plus the main connectors to the lugs. Then, with all the service discinnected, e might even pull new circuit wires and existing to the new panel and connect all breakers.

All that being done, he can run his backup generator until the Inspector gets his (you knw what) out there for final approval . . . then he has to wait for the utility poeple to do their thing.

Lotsa fun, huh?



__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Questions here or in Electrical Forum toofast Pools and Spas 11 10-19-2012 08:31 AM
Electrical Panel mmaarrkk Electrical and Wiring 3 09-12-2011 05:50 PM
Is this a 'proper' way to install a new electrical panel? viki412ag Electrical and Wiring 10 04-15-2009 07:54 AM