DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > electrical question-help please




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2008, 05:42 AM  
ocnprknatv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default electrical question-help please

I'm not sure what this means or if I should be worried and yelling for an electrician. I woke up this morning, and all of the top outlets are not working in my living room. I unplugged the lamp from the top and put it in the bottom one, and that one works. I did this on three of the outlets in this room and the lamp or tv now will turn on, but not if I plug the cords into the top. Does anyone know why this would happen, and what do I do about it? Thanks so much for any help!



__________________
ocnprknatv is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2008, 05:50 AM  
CraigFL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 409
Default

A lot of times one of the two outlet sets is wired for a wall switch so that you can switch lights on from a single location.



__________________
CraigFL is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2008, 07:14 AM  
handyguys
Senior Member
 
handyguys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 815
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Send a message via Skype™ to handyguys
Default

CraigFL - That was my first thought as well. I have never seen multiple tops on one switch but that doesn't mean it couldn't be that way. It could also be two circuits (also not common). could also be a split circuit with a shared nutral. (not common).

So, to the OP - Look for a switch that you forgot you had and switch it back on, also check for a tripped breaker. If you find neither then switch your breakers off then on. If this doesn't solve your issue then it might be time to call an electrician.

__________________

The Handyguys Podcast [url]http://www.handyguyspodcast.com[/url]

handyguys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2008, 07:16 AM  
guyod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wind Gap, PA
Posts: 423
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

I like craigs answer so find that light switch that you had no idea what it did and switch it. If that doesnt work on the same principle there could be 2 circuits one for the top another for the bottom rarely done but check your breaker box for a tripped breaker.

__________________
guyod is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2008, 08:03 AM  
CraigFL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 409
Default

And if you're handy... remove an outlet to verify that the connector between the two sockets is broken off/removed telling you that the outlets operate independantly.

BTW... The reason I suggested the switch is because I had a situation like this. It was a three way with a switch behind a bookshelf(never used and forgotton about) that had shifted over the years and partially tripped the switch so the circuit was dead!

__________________
CraigFL is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2008, 10:40 AM  
ocnprknatv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default Thanks you all!

I think it was the switch on the wall. I'd forgotten about it, and I didn't realise that it was hooked up to three outlets. I know I've hit it a few times in the past and it would knock out the TV...so I played around and figure that's what it is, and then I plugged in one of the lamps to it, and tadaaaa...now I can turn the light on when I walk in the door. Feel like an idiot for freaking out now...but appreciate everyone's help and answers!!

__________________
ocnprknatv is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 07:41 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Now that we know what happened, I would like to mention that if you don't want to hassle with this again, simply remove the switch and splice the two wire that come off the switch, toghether. You can reinstall the switch and cover just for looks or you can install a blank to cover up the opening where the switch used to be.

I had to do this in my apt. once because everyone thought it was the patio light switch and kept knocking the programming out of my entertainment center equipment.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 02:05 PM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

You can buy a little snap cap that fits over the toggle. You must first unsnap the little door to access it. I have this on my exterior spot light switch as lights are now motion activated.



__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Question on shared ground/neutral buss in breaker box banyan Electrical and Wiring 5 06-29-2008 01:39 AM
Electrical question Outbacker Electrical and Wiring 2 04-08-2007 11:38 AM
Electrical wiring question jamesm Electrical and Wiring 4 12-17-2006 07:21 AM
Overheated Wiring & Electrical Surges bpaxt@netzero.net Electrical and Wiring 4 07-11-2006 08:34 PM
Electrical Service Capacity Gary Allhiser Electrical and Wiring 1 02-18-2006 01:11 PM